register gallery
 

Go Back   Mazdaspeed Forums >
MAZDASPEED SECTION
>
Mazdaspeed 3/6 MZR Gen1 Forums (2006-2009)
> MazdaSpeed 6 - How-To's


Welcome to Mazdaspeed Forums .

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

*When you join MSF as a registered user, there will be No Ads.

*Registered Members get access to the Off Topic Area of the Forum

*Registered Members have an opportunity to upgrade their accounts to VIP, which brings a host of goddies for supporting MSF such as Raffles, Additional Forum Access, More PM Storage, The ability to upload more Images and many other enhancements.

*Registered members also get access to the live chat box!
Reply
 
Bookmark and Share LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 Old 10-18-2012, 02:57 PM   #1
 
qtrmile beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: charles co, MD
Posts: 2,423   (View Stats)
iTrader: (4)
Rep Power: 0
qtrmile beast is the leader of the worldqtrmile beast is the leader of the worldqtrmile beast is the leader of the worldqtrmile beast is the leader of the worldqtrmile beast is the leader of the worldqtrmile beast is the leader of the worldqtrmile beast is the leader of the worldqtrmile beast is the leader of the worldqtrmile beast is the leader of the worldqtrmile beast is the leader of the worldqtrmile beast is the leader of the world
Thanks: 1,295
Thanked 2,495 Times in 989 Posts
Groans: 8
Groaned at 8 Times in 6 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default Pulling the cams in the MZR

The HOW-TO is to show you how to pull your cams without pulling the head or timing cover.

Step one pull the valve cover. For those that have a TMIC pull that first.
At this point you will see the cams and the timing chain. Also while you are in there take a look on the underside of the valve cover above where the timing chain is to see if the chain has been hitting the valve cover. This is an indication that the chain may have been hitting and that is a sign of your chain or tensioner is going bad.

Next step is to pull the high pressure fuel pump housing:
Here are the bolts to the fuel pump housing.


Removed....




This line goes to the fuel rail..




Fuel pump harness and Feed and Return line:



Next install your blind plug.
Note i pulled one of the timing cover bolts and installed that in the BLIND PLUG hole. make sure you use the UPPER BLIND PLUG HOLE to do this. Also when installing it there is no need to TORQUE is down just go far enough til you feel a little tension. TIP: It might be best to use a 1/4in ratchet for this... This step is down so that when you loosen the exhaust cam sprocket to get the chain loose you will not loose tension on the tensioner because the timing chain guide will prevent that.






Next pull the EXHAUST CAM sprocket.




Next step is to pull the cam caps:

NOTE on the cam cap you will see numbers on each of them. Pay attention to the letters and the arrow that are inscribed on each of the caps. This pic shows the inscribed letter E 2 and also you see the arrow. The "E" is for exhaust and the "2" is for the second cap and the arrow is the direction the arrows should be pointing.





Now just lift your cam out of the head..

This is what it looks like with the cams out..
__________________
Best time is 12.28@112 with a 1.68 60ft
"GONE HUNTING BE BACK IN 11 SECS"
365HP and 333 TQ AT 20Psi gt3076 7 blade
track weight 3220
street weight 3370
fully built motor//carrilo rods//cp pistons//ACT 6 puck//all mounts//gt3582 turbo//CPE manifold//ported intake//h&r coils//brembo brakes//tr10 I/C//accessport
qtrmile beast is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to qtrmile beast For This Useful Post:
djuosnteisn (07-30-2013), El_Diablo (08-03-2013), Tomas (03-01-2013)
 Old 10-18-2012, 03:24 PM   #2
 
qtrmile beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: charles co, MD
Posts: 2,423   (View Stats)
iTrader: (4)
Rep Power: 0
qtrmile beast is the leader of the worldqtrmile beast is the leader of the worldqtrmile beast is the leader of the worldqtrmile beast is the leader of the worldqtrmile beast is the leader of the worldqtrmile beast is the leader of the worldqtrmile beast is the leader of the worldqtrmile beast is the leader of the worldqtrmile beast is the leader of the worldqtrmile beast is the leader of the worldqtrmile beast is the leader of the world
Thanks: 1,295
Thanked 2,495 Times in 989 Posts
Groans: 8
Groaned at 8 Times in 6 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Now putting it back together............

If you didn't already have the pistons at TDC this is how you can find it....

VIDEO (This video is without the timing cover on)



This is for those that have the cover still installed and want to see what the crank bolt is doing..



If you done have the proper SST (CRANK ALIGNMENT TOOL) don't worry you can use this..
when you have found TDC install this until you feel a little tension. You dont have to tighten down as there is a flat spot on the crank that this will rest on and will prevent the crank from turning. FYI this will not prevent the crank from turning if you are trying to loosen the CRANK BOLT only when tighting it. No need to do anything with the crank bolt for this how-to FYI...



Now that you have found and lock down TDC you can install your cams.

Again there is no need to pull the timing cover...

Make sure that when you install the cams that the first lobe on the passengerside of the motor(timing chain side) are almost pointing to each other (ie. The exhaust cam lobe is pointing toward the intake cam lobe. This is TDC for the cams. Make sure this is done BEFORE you install the cam caps. Now install your cam caps with the exhaust caps all are pointing in the same direction and in order by number. Do that same for the intake cam caps. FYI on the last cam cap nearest the CDFP make sure you use some permatex in the grooves located on the underside of the cap. If there is already some on there clean it out and install new permetex.

Here is the SST( cam alignment tool)


Also when tightening the caps you want to do them in sequence like when you do your head. I believe its 12in lbs for each bolt. Once you have done this now you can attach your timing chain to your exhaust sprocket BEFORE YOU BOLT IT YOUR CAM and then while your chain is attached attach the sprocket to the cam. Now with the cover still on the car you will not have a chance to use a torque wrench.





Will update more later....
__________________
Best time is 12.28@112 with a 1.68 60ft
"GONE HUNTING BE BACK IN 11 SECS"
365HP and 333 TQ AT 20Psi gt3076 7 blade
track weight 3220
street weight 3370
fully built motor//carrilo rods//cp pistons//ACT 6 puck//all mounts//gt3582 turbo//CPE manifold//ported intake//h&r coils//brembo brakes//tr10 I/C//accessport
qtrmile beast is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to qtrmile beast For This Useful Post:
djuosnteisn (07-30-2013), El_Diablo (08-03-2013), redboat (04-28-2014), Tomas (03-01-2013)
 Old 10-18-2012, 03:44 PM   #3
 
Roddiy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 5,388   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
Roddiy is the leader of the worldRoddiy is the leader of the worldRoddiy is the leader of the worldRoddiy is the leader of the worldRoddiy is the leader of the worldRoddiy is the leader of the worldRoddiy is the leader of the worldRoddiy is the leader of the worldRoddiy is the leader of the worldRoddiy is the leader of the worldRoddiy is the leader of the world
Thanks: 13,355
Thanked 7,439 Times in 2,861 Posts
Groans: 279
Groaned at 58 Times in 47 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Now we just need a good set of Aftermarket cams...
__________________
2010 LSM Speed3

Bolted + Corn + Meth + ACT 6-Puck


#BakeryTuned
Roddiy is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 03-01-2013, 03:14 PM   #4
Bob Ross Fanclub
 
Tomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SEFL
Posts: 3,810   (View Stats)
iTrader: (8)
Rep Power: 4332
Tomas is the leader of the worldTomas is the leader of the worldTomas is the leader of the worldTomas is the leader of the worldTomas is the leader of the worldTomas is the leader of the worldTomas is the leader of the worldTomas is the leader of the worldTomas is the leader of the worldTomas is the leader of the worldTomas is the leader of the world
Thanks: 4,532
Thanked 8,222 Times in 2,348 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 35 Times in 20 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Qbeast, How do use a torque wrench on the VVT bolt for the intake cam with the timing cover on? There is no space there for a socket and a ratchet. You can not even use a standard wrench since there isn't enough space between the head of the bolt the timing cover. At least I couldn't.
__________________
Tomas is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 03-27-2013, 07:28 AM   #5
 
aviator79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: W. Suffield, CT
Posts: 3,934   (View Stats)
iTrader: (11)
Rep Power: 0
aviator79 is the leader of the worldaviator79 is the leader of the worldaviator79 is the leader of the worldaviator79 is the leader of the worldaviator79 is the leader of the worldaviator79 is the leader of the worldaviator79 is the leader of the worldaviator79 is the leader of the worldaviator79 is the leader of the worldaviator79 is the leader of the worldaviator79 is the leader of the world
Thanks: 674
Thanked 1,701 Times in 1,066 Posts
Groans: 67
Groaned at 17 Times in 12 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Question

Originally Posted by qtrmile beast View Post
... Now with the cover still on the car you will not have a chance to use a torque wrench.





Will update more later....
Originally Posted by Tomas View Post
Qbeast, How do use a torque wrench on the VVT bolt for the intake cam with the timing cover on? There is no space there for a socket and a ratchet. You can not even use a standard wrench since there isn't enough space between the head of the bolt the timing cover. At least I couldn't.
You are not able to. But I have never used a torque wrench so I think it would be OK for just the exhaust cam sprocket, but that is me. I would use one on the crank pulley of course though.
aviator79 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to aviator79 For This Useful Post:
Tomas (03-27-2013)
 Old 07-30-2013, 02:35 PM   #6
 
qtrmile beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: charles co, MD
Posts: 2,423   (View Stats)
iTrader: (4)
Rep Power: 0
qtrmile beast is the leader of the worldqtrmile beast is the leader of the worldqtrmile beast is the leader of the worldqtrmile beast is the leader of the worldqtrmile beast is the leader of the worldqtrmile beast is the leader of the worldqtrmile beast is the leader of the worldqtrmile beast is the leader of the worldqtrmile beast is the leader of the worldqtrmile beast is the leader of the worldqtrmile beast is the leader of the world
Thanks: 1,295
Thanked 2,495 Times in 989 Posts
Groans: 8
Groaned at 8 Times in 6 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Originally Posted by Tomas View Post
Qbeast, How do use a torque wrench on the VVT bolt for the intake cam with the timing cover on? There is no space there for a socket and a ratchet. You can not even use a standard wrench since there isn't enough space between the head of the bolt the timing cover. At least I couldn't.

Here is what i did to torque mine down... i beleive that bolt is to be torqued to 65 lbft so i am a pretty strong guy so i just tighted it as tight as i can get it with in reason. I have torqued a lot of things down so i kind of know where 65 lbft is. I how ever would not used that "feel" on my head bolts though..LOL
__________________
Best time is 12.28@112 with a 1.68 60ft
"GONE HUNTING BE BACK IN 11 SECS"
365HP and 333 TQ AT 20Psi gt3076 7 blade
track weight 3220
street weight 3370
fully built motor//carrilo rods//cp pistons//ACT 6 puck//all mounts//gt3582 turbo//CPE manifold//ported intake//h&r coils//brembo brakes//tr10 I/C//accessport
qtrmile beast is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to qtrmile beast For This Useful Post:
Downmented (07-30-2013), Tomas (07-30-2013)
 Old 07-30-2013, 03:55 PM   #7
Bob Ross Fanclub
 
Tomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SEFL
Posts: 3,810   (View Stats)
iTrader: (8)
Rep Power: 4332
Tomas is the leader of the worldTomas is the leader of the worldTomas is the leader of the worldTomas is the leader of the worldTomas is the leader of the worldTomas is the leader of the worldTomas is the leader of the worldTomas is the leader of the worldTomas is the leader of the worldTomas is the leader of the worldTomas is the leader of the world
Thanks: 4,532
Thanked 8,222 Times in 2,348 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 35 Times in 20 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Holly shit better late than never.
__________________
Tomas is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Tomas For This Useful Post:
djuosnteisn (07-30-2013), qtrmile beast (07-30-2013)
 Old 04-27-2014, 09:11 AM   #8
 
redboat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 634   (View Stats)
iTrader: (2)
Rep Power: 0
redboat is the leader of the worldredboat is the leader of the worldredboat is the leader of the worldredboat is the leader of the worldredboat is the leader of the worldredboat is the leader of the worldredboat is the leader of the worldredboat is the leader of the worldredboat is the leader of the worldredboat is the leader of the worldredboat is the leader of the world
Thanks: 800
Thanked 107 Times in 82 Posts
Groans: 6
Groaned at 12 Times in 8 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

I'm assuming when you pull the ex cam gear the chain will lose tension, which will allow you to pull it off intake can gear?

Would I need to buy any new hardware doing it this way?
redboat is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 04-28-2014, 01:05 PM   #9
Bob Ross Fanclub
 
Tomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SEFL
Posts: 3,810   (View Stats)
iTrader: (8)
Rep Power: 4332
Tomas is the leader of the worldTomas is the leader of the worldTomas is the leader of the worldTomas is the leader of the worldTomas is the leader of the worldTomas is the leader of the worldTomas is the leader of the worldTomas is the leader of the worldTomas is the leader of the worldTomas is the leader of the worldTomas is the leader of the world
Thanks: 4,532
Thanked 8,222 Times in 2,348 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 35 Times in 20 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Yes. See OP.

You need to buy new friction washers when you loosen up the cam sprockets.
__________________
Tomas is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Tomas For This Useful Post:
redboat (04-28-2014)
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT-P regrind cams story -- need Web weld & regrind cams MazdaGaragePat MazdaSpeed 6 - Engine, Transmission & Driveline 30 08-10-2016 03:46 PM
Pulling the cams in the MZR qtrmile beast MazdaSpeed 3 - How-To's 9 09-10-2015 03:19 PM
Cams Cams Cams.... blkspeed6 MazdaSpeed 6 - Engine, Transmission & Driveline 11 12-17-2010 08:10 PM
ptp cams? Buildabong MazdaSpeed 3 - Engine, Transmission & Driveline 11 06-14-2009 11:02 PM
What Do Cams Do? kingpin748 MazdaSpeed 3 - Engine, Transmission & Driveline 37 02-16-2009 08:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:28 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
Template-Modifications by TMS
©Copyright 2008 ; 2019 Cymru Internet Services LLC | FYHN™ Autosports HQ
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Page generated in 0.31177 seconds with 24 queries