register gallery
 

Go Back   Mazdaspeed Forums >
MAZDASPEED SECTION
>
Mazdaspeed 3/6 MZR Gen1 Forums (2006-2009)
> MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Car Audio & Electronics

MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Car Audio & Electronics MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Car Audio & Electronics - Tired of that stock stereo? Installing Nav units or mods to your current system? Come talk about it here.


Welcome to Mazdaspeed Forums .

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

*When you join MSF as a registered user, there will be No Ads.

*Registered Members get access to the Off Topic Area of the Forum

*Registered Members have an opportunity to upgrade their accounts to VIP, which brings a host of goddies for supporting MSF such as Raffles, Additional Forum Access, More PM Storage, The ability to upload more Images and many other enhancements.

*Registered members also get access to the live chat box!
Reply
 
Bookmark and Share LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 Old 11-13-2010, 04:48 PM   #1
 
Qtip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 410   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
Qtip has a reputation beyond reputeQtip has a reputation beyond reputeQtip has a reputation beyond reputeQtip has a reputation beyond reputeQtip has a reputation beyond reputeQtip has a reputation beyond reputeQtip has a reputation beyond reputeQtip has a reputation beyond reputeQtip has a reputation beyond reputeQtip has a reputation beyond reputeQtip has a reputation beyond repute
Thanks: 43
Thanked 66 Times in 61 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 2 Times in 2 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default Need ignition source to tap

My car is in pieces right now trying to fix the cowl rattle and figured I'd fix my wiring as well...

Anyone know of a ignition source that I can tap that is in the driver footwell area? I want this source to only have power when the key is in the ON position.

Did a search but couldn't find any post with clear information.

Tnx
Qtip is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 11-13-2010, 04:55 PM   #2
 
taf0422's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Andover, MA
Posts: 4,670   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
taf0422 is the leader of the worldtaf0422 is the leader of the worldtaf0422 is the leader of the worldtaf0422 is the leader of the worldtaf0422 is the leader of the worldtaf0422 is the leader of the worldtaf0422 is the leader of the worldtaf0422 is the leader of the worldtaf0422 is the leader of the worldtaf0422 is the leader of the worldtaf0422 is the leader of the world
Thanks: 17,924
Thanked 4,683 Times in 2,002 Posts
Groans: 192
Groaned at 24 Times in 20 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Did you try the cigarette plug wires? That has some pretty easy access
__________________
[SIZE="1"]07 MS3 GT..
Engine:Cobb V3,GTX3076r EWG,Wiseco Pistons/Manley Rods, L19's,JMF, Bosch 3.5bar MAP,CS cat-back,M2 DP, full race manifold,FP internals,FREEK 4",CP-E flange HKS,DO Stage II ss lines,Cobb piping,TR8L,MD RMM&TMM,JBR RSB & FSB,JBR SST,JBR knob,ACT 6puck,JBR EGR delete,CPE Seals,Grimmspeed EBC,JBR BSD,MD Catch Can.Looks:yellow lamin-x fogs,chrome turn signals,side moldings removed,20% tint,CS wheelSuspension/Wheels:Enkei RPF1 17x9,Eibach 5mm spaces H&R springs,koni yellows.

GTX3076r --- 479/412

S4-460/400

Highest HP BNR S3
BNR-S3 424/397 @GSD Dyno
414/390 @moore
taf0422 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 11-13-2010, 04:59 PM   #3
 
hnda etr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: PDX
Posts: 4,173   (View Stats)
iTrader: (32)
Rep Power: 5686
hnda etr is the leader of the worldhnda etr is the leader of the worldhnda etr is the leader of the worldhnda etr is the leader of the worldhnda etr is the leader of the worldhnda etr is the leader of the worldhnda etr is the leader of the worldhnda etr is the leader of the worldhnda etr is the leader of the worldhnda etr is the leader of the worldhnda etr is the leader of the world
Thanks: 19,676
Thanked 11,127 Times in 1,333 Posts
Groans: 90
Groaned at 279 Times in 248 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Pull the steering column cover and use those wires - you can find the right one by searching for a turbo timer install write up...

Or use the cigarette lighter power wire in the fuse block harness..
__________________

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
hnda etr is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 11-13-2010, 05:03 PM   #4
 
Qtip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 410   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
Qtip has a reputation beyond reputeQtip has a reputation beyond reputeQtip has a reputation beyond reputeQtip has a reputation beyond reputeQtip has a reputation beyond reputeQtip has a reputation beyond reputeQtip has a reputation beyond reputeQtip has a reputation beyond reputeQtip has a reputation beyond reputeQtip has a reputation beyond reputeQtip has a reputation beyond repute
Thanks: 43
Thanked 66 Times in 61 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 2 Times in 2 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Wow, that was fast! This forum rocks.

So I want the Green/Yellow wire(Ignition) at the column correct?

http://www.mazdaspeedforums.org/foru...eed-3-a-18264/
Qtip is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 11-13-2010, 05:22 PM   #5
 
hnda etr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: PDX
Posts: 4,173   (View Stats)
iTrader: (32)
Rep Power: 5686
hnda etr is the leader of the worldhnda etr is the leader of the worldhnda etr is the leader of the worldhnda etr is the leader of the worldhnda etr is the leader of the worldhnda etr is the leader of the worldhnda etr is the leader of the worldhnda etr is the leader of the worldhnda etr is the leader of the worldhnda etr is the leader of the worldhnda etr is the leader of the world
Thanks: 19,676
Thanked 11,127 Times in 1,333 Posts
Groans: 90
Groaned at 279 Times in 248 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Originally Posted by Qtip View Post
Wow, that was fast! This forum rocks.

So I want the Green/Yellow wire(Ignition) at the column correct?

http://www.mazdaspeedforums.org/foru...eed-3-a-18264/
Looks like it... Use test light to confirm - if you have one...
__________________

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
hnda etr is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 11-13-2010, 05:31 PM   #6
 
cpolly69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 2,116   (View Stats)
iTrader: (9)
Rep Power: 1057
cpolly69 is the leader of the worldcpolly69 is the leader of the worldcpolly69 is the leader of the worldcpolly69 is the leader of the worldcpolly69 is the leader of the worldcpolly69 is the leader of the worldcpolly69 is the leader of the worldcpolly69 is the leader of the worldcpolly69 is the leader of the worldcpolly69 is the leader of the worldcpolly69 is the leader of the world
Thanks: 2,958
Thanked 1,862 Times in 739 Posts
Groans: 27
Groaned at 28 Times in 22 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

or if you want to not cut your factory wires use an add a fuse over on the fuse panel on the passenger side and just run a wire over
__________________
08 CB MS3 Sport
Sold

01 MX-5 (Project)
03 P5 (DD)
cpolly69 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to cpolly69 For This Useful Post:
FreeFlyFreak (11-14-2010)
 Old 11-13-2010, 05:32 PM   #7
 
hnda etr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: PDX
Posts: 4,173   (View Stats)
iTrader: (32)
Rep Power: 5686
hnda etr is the leader of the worldhnda etr is the leader of the worldhnda etr is the leader of the worldhnda etr is the leader of the worldhnda etr is the leader of the worldhnda etr is the leader of the worldhnda etr is the leader of the worldhnda etr is the leader of the worldhnda etr is the leader of the worldhnda etr is the leader of the worldhnda etr is the leader of the world
Thanks: 19,676
Thanked 11,127 Times in 1,333 Posts
Groans: 90
Groaned at 279 Times in 248 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Originally Posted by cpolly69 View Post
or if you want to not cut your factory wires use an add a fuse over on the fuse panel on the passenger side and just run a wire over
+1
__________________

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
hnda etr is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hnda etr For This Useful Post:
cpolly69 (11-13-2010)
 Old 11-14-2010, 12:49 AM   #8
The Kamikaze King!
 
FreeFlyFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4,155   (View Stats)
iTrader: (4)
Rep Power: 1799
FreeFlyFreak is the leader of the worldFreeFlyFreak is the leader of the worldFreeFlyFreak is the leader of the worldFreeFlyFreak is the leader of the worldFreeFlyFreak is the leader of the worldFreeFlyFreak is the leader of the worldFreeFlyFreak is the leader of the worldFreeFlyFreak is the leader of the worldFreeFlyFreak is the leader of the worldFreeFlyFreak is the leader of the worldFreeFlyFreak is the leader of the world
Thanks: 6,794
Thanked 3,284 Times in 1,251 Posts
Groans: 754
Groaned at 128 Times in 100 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Add a fuse every time for me, fucking with factory wiring often leads to endless future problems. Problems which are often hard to troubleshoot.
__________________
BB code url is no longer allowed.........so.....
http://www.fuelly.com/driver/FreeFlyFreak/speed-3

http://www.fuelly.com/driver/FreeFlyFreak/speed-3

Suspension:
OEM --> FSD 4040 --> FSD 4040 with cut stops --> MS Coils --> FSD 4045's --> FSD4045 with cut stops --> Bilstein Sports

Yes, that is me in the avatar.
FreeFlyFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 11-14-2010, 04:52 AM   #9
Eatin' Your Tuna
 
Haltech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Nator HQ - San Diego, CA
Posts: 106,620
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 10
Haltech is the leader of the worldHaltech is the leader of the worldHaltech is the leader of the worldHaltech is the leader of the worldHaltech is the leader of the worldHaltech is the leader of the worldHaltech is the leader of the worldHaltech is the leader of the worldHaltech is the leader of the worldHaltech is the leader of the worldHaltech is the leader of the world
Thanks: 1,600
Thanked 41,958 Times in 8,172 Posts
Groans: 243
Groaned at 329 Times in 243 Posts
Default

Theres an unused fuse in the engine fuse cover. Use.a.15amp add a fuse and you have switched ignition on power in virvin state.
__________________

Originally Posted by Mazda3Revolution
An intro thread on MSF is like your first day at a State Corrections facility. "Your gonna get tested".
MSF -The HARDCORE Of Mazda High Performance Tech!
Flex Limited Ecoboost - Not Stock

Gen1 MS3 - COBB FMIC V2.0 | COBB SRI | COBB AP Stage 2 W/MSF_V1.08y | COBB 3" Downpipe | COBB CBE | Devil's Own Stage 2 Meth Injection | AST 4300 Coilovers | Haltech Fuel Pump Internals | Rota Torque 18x8 w/ 235/40/18 | ACT 6 PUCK Sprung/Streetlite
Haltech is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 11-14-2010, 03:28 PM   #10
 
Qtip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 410   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
Qtip has a reputation beyond reputeQtip has a reputation beyond reputeQtip has a reputation beyond reputeQtip has a reputation beyond reputeQtip has a reputation beyond reputeQtip has a reputation beyond reputeQtip has a reputation beyond reputeQtip has a reputation beyond reputeQtip has a reputation beyond reputeQtip has a reputation beyond reputeQtip has a reputation beyond repute
Thanks: 43
Thanked 66 Times in 61 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 2 Times in 2 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Originally Posted by FreeFlyFreak View Post
Add a fuse every time for me, fucking with factory wiring often leads to endless future problems. Problems which are often hard to troubleshoot.
I think lazyness got me this time, I didn't want to run the wire all the way to the passenger side so I just used the ignition wire everyone mentioned.

Originally Posted by Haltech View Post
Theres an unused fuse in the engine fuse cover. Use.a.15amp add a fuse and you have switched ignition on power in virvin state.
Are you talking about the unused slot at the upper front of the fuse box? If so, that one has some demons. It'll power-up by itself out of nowhere once it a while.

I've attached a picture of the ignition wire so anyone else who needs it can figure it out. This wire is a lot heavier gauge than I expected.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg P1020327.JPG (121.8 KB, 52 views)
Qtip is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Qtip For This Useful Post:
Captainobvious (05-31-2014)
 Old 11-17-2010, 11:02 AM   #11
 
dreamspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 39   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
dreamspeed is just really nicedreamspeed is just really nicedreamspeed is just really nicedreamspeed is just really nicedreamspeed is just really nice
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 4 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Originally Posted by hnda etr View Post
Looks like it... Use test light to confirm - if you have one...
Try to avoid using test light. It should be okay for what you were looking for but using a test light with change the resistance on the wire and depending on the wire could lead to damaging components. Use a multimeter... even if its just a cheap one.
dreamspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Headlights On/Off with ignition prenedo MazdaSpeed 3 - How-To's 13 12-07-2014 01:29 PM
Car won't start even with key in ignition diablo900t MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Troubleshoot/Diagnostics 4 06-29-2010 12:22 PM
Headlights on/off w/ ignition prenedo MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Car Audio & Electronics 7 12-03-2009 06:23 AM
Ignition tables Trader
Cobb ATR Support
7 08-22-2009 10:40 AM
HKS Ignition Amplifier Laloosh MazdaSpeed 3/6 - ECU Computer Tuning 25 09-29-2008 04:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:59 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
Template-Modifications by TMS
©Copyright 2008 ; 2014 Cymru Internet Services LLC | FYHN™ Autosports HQ
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Page generated in 0.31779 seconds with 27 queries