register gallery
 

Go Back   Mazdaspeed Forums >
MAZDASPEED SECTION
>
Mazdaspeed 3/6 MZR Gen1 Forums (2006-2009)
> MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Troubleshoot/Diagnostics

MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Troubleshoot/Diagnostics MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Troubleshoot/Diagnostics - Have a problem with the car? CEL Code? Want to discuss other issues? Come on in!


Welcome to Mazdaspeed Forums .

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

*When you join MSF as a registered user, there will be No Ads.

*Registered Members get access to the Off Topic Area of the Forum

*Registered Members have an opportunity to upgrade their accounts to VIP, which brings a host of goddies for supporting MSF such as Raffles, Additional Forum Access, More PM Storage, The ability to upload more Images and many other enhancements.

*Registered members also get access to the live chat box!
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By kkostec
Reply
 
Bookmark and Share LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 Old 06-13-2018, 06:43 PM   #1
 
kkostec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
kkostec will become famous soon enough
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default Access Tuner Assistance Needed!!

Hey guys!

I am need of some quick clarifications and was wondering anyone with the Cobb Access Tuner could clarify something for me.

Situation: My second k04 failed so I fixed the problem by ordering a BNR S3 and etune from a well known supplier (don't want to put them on blast). Part of the upgrade I got an Autotech HPFP, 3.5 Bar Bosch MAP sensor with IAT, and the plug and play harness adapter. When I put all the pieces together, I put all the parts together and flashed the base/initial map. When I fired the car up, the check engine light came on with the code registering high voltage from the map sensor and after a few minutes smoke started coming out the exhaust smelling strongly of gas. Keep in mind, I did not have this issue prior to the turbo install - just the oil burning after extended idle time because of the k04.

Troubleshooting notes:
New Spark plugs gapped between 0.26 and 0.28 (recommendation and if I am missing a zero it is because I'm a tard)
Fresh Oil Change
HPFP has no leaks
Initial fire up had stock HPFP internals (long story) but subsequent start up is with Autotech HPFP with no change


Thinking it might be the PCV system (the car has 115k), I upgraded to a Damond PCV plate, new PCV valve, and a stage 1 Damond Oil Catch Can with a breather valve. This had no affect on my situation (but will future proof me from issues down the road).

I circled back with the Tuner about the check engine light a couple of weeks ago and they wanted me to confirm I ordered the right map sensor as I stated in my email. It's been over a week since I responded and my car has been down for a couple of weeks. What I need help with is confirming what MAP Sensor is indicated with my base tune so I can continue troubleshooting what is going on with my car.

If you can confirm the tune or help me with my issue, I would greatly appreciate it. I can PM you Bosch MAP Sensor part number.
__________________
kkostec is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 06-13-2018, 08:07 PM   #2
 
Solarsurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 554   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 95
Solarsurge is the leader of the worldSolarsurge is the leader of the worldSolarsurge is the leader of the worldSolarsurge is the leader of the worldSolarsurge is the leader of the worldSolarsurge is the leader of the worldSolarsurge is the leader of the worldSolarsurge is the leader of the worldSolarsurge is the leader of the worldSolarsurge is the leader of the worldSolarsurge is the leader of the world
Thanks: 24
Thanked 120 Times in 95 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 1 Time in 1 Post
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

My notes:
Spark plug gap should be .026-.028"...the 0 matters greatly.
Correct part number for Bosch 3.5 Bar MAP sensor is 0281002456.

Since you're only on a base tune and shouldn't be going over 22 PSI, the easy way to see if it's your MAP sensor is to put your stock MAP back in, have tuner rescale the MAP back to stock, reflash, and see if you still get a code. If you do, something else is wrong. If you don't, it's either a bad/damaged MAP sensor or a bad tune.
Solarsurge is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Solarsurge For This Useful Post:
Spectrix (06-14-2018)
 Old 06-14-2018, 04:54 AM   #3
 
kkostec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
kkostec will become famous soon enough
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Correct, I am getting to that point, but my Tuner has been slow to respond so I was looking to see if somebody could confirm if the tune was scaled correctly. Tonight I will go test the signal voltage and look for the right parameters for the sensor.
__________________
kkostec is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 06-14-2018, 05:08 AM   #4
 
BuddySpeed3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 432   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 116
BuddySpeed3 has a reputation beyond reputeBuddySpeed3 has a reputation beyond reputeBuddySpeed3 has a reputation beyond reputeBuddySpeed3 has a reputation beyond reputeBuddySpeed3 has a reputation beyond reputeBuddySpeed3 has a reputation beyond reputeBuddySpeed3 has a reputation beyond reputeBuddySpeed3 has a reputation beyond reputeBuddySpeed3 has a reputation beyond reputeBuddySpeed3 has a reputation beyond reputeBuddySpeed3 has a reputation beyond repute
Thanks: 153
Thanked 75 Times in 44 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 7 Times in 4 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Originally Posted by kkostec View Post
Correct, I am getting to that point, but my Tuner has been slow to respond so I was looking to see if somebody could confirm if the tune was scaled correctly. Tonight I will go test the signal voltage and look for the right parameters for the sensor.
A quick way to see if your Map sensor is scaled correctly is to turn the ignition into the ON position and monitor 'Boost'. Take a quick 10 second log and then view it on your computer. It should read very close to 0 psi. If it's way off then the tuner may have scaled it either for a stock 2.5 bar sensor, or a 3 bar.

This is the link I used when I installed my 3 bar:
How-To: Painless 3 BAR MAP Sensor upgrade

And this is a link I found for the 3.5 bar (post #10 looks promising):
Tuning for 3.5Bar Map sensor with cobb ap
__________________
- 2009 Speed 3 - Clocked BNR S4 v2 - HTP 3" Intake - Cobb 3 Port Bcs - Cobb AP V2 - Guardian Angel V3 - Tr8 Fmic w/ Jbr Under Route Piping - Jbr Raiders Air Damn w/ Custom Radiator Side Ducting - Cpe Catless Dp - Cnt Catback - Cobb Xle Bpv - Corksport IM - Full Race EM - Cobb Shift Knob - Autotech Internals - Corksport HP Fuel Line - Gen 2 VC w/ Sp63 Oil Breather Cap - DM PCV Plate w/ Dual Vented Catch Cans - Jbr 88a Rmm - 88a Tmm - 80a Pmm - Corksport Injector Seals - Ngk 1 Step colder Plugs - Koni Yellow Shocks - Eibach Springs - 94 Oct w/ In Tank Methanol (2 Gallons) - Stock Fuel System (Installing 6th Port Soon) -
BuddySpeed3 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 06-14-2018, 05:48 AM   #5
 
kkostec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
kkostec will become famous soon enough
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Thanks BuddySpeed3. I will try the On position boost reading tonight. When I put a voltage meter to it, should I expect the same signal voltage as a stock Sensor at 1.4 to 1.8 volts?
BuddySpeed3 likes this.
__________________

Last edited by kkostec; 06-14-2018 at 11:29 AM. Reason: MSF Database - Automerged Doublepost
kkostec is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 06-14-2018, 05:56 PM   #6
 
kkostec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
kkostec will become famous soon enough
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Good news, bad news.

Turned the key to the on position and checked the boost level on the ap. Not sure it is possible to have 38.9 lbs boost with the engine off. Curious, I started the car and at idle there was a -8.6 vacuum regardless of couple light throttle revs. Thanks for the feedback on how to check the tune. Off to bug the Tuner again.
__________________
kkostec is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kkostec For This Useful Post:
BuddySpeed3 (06-14-2018)
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Initial Map setup (Assistance Needed) mmanda2290 MazdaSpeed 3/6 - ECU Computer Tuning 8 02-10-2013 06:38 PM
MAF cal log assistance needed bfak66 MazdaSpeed 3/6 - ECU Computer Tuning 8 10-17-2012 07:36 PM
Viper 5901 Remote Start install assistance needed thehead MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Car Audio & Electronics 27 04-03-2012 09:01 AM
Assistance needed! MSpeed34 Mazdaspeed3/6 General Discussion 4 02-02-2012 10:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:05 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
Template-Modifications by TMS
Copyright 2008 ; 2018 Cymru Internet Services LLC | FYHN Autosports HQ
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Page generated in 0.27359 seconds with 22 queries