register gallery
 

Go Back   Mazdaspeed Forums >
MAZDASPEED SECTION
>
Mazdaspeed 3/6 MZR Gen1 Forums (2006-2009)
> MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Troubleshoot/Diagnostics

MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Troubleshoot/Diagnostics MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Troubleshoot/Diagnostics - Have a problem with the car? CEL Code? Want to discuss other issues? Come on in!


Welcome to Mazdaspeed Forums .

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

*When you join MSF as a registered user, there will be No Ads.

*Registered Members get access to the Off Topic Area of the Forum

*Registered Members have an opportunity to upgrade their accounts to VIP, which brings a host of goddies for supporting MSF such as Raffles, Additional Forum Access, More PM Storage, The ability to upload more Images and many other enhancements.

*Registered members also get access to the live chat box!
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By brandonnicholson
Reply
 
Bookmark and Share LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 Old 10-20-2015, 07:29 PM   #1
 
Pagan47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Utah
Posts: 18   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
Pagan47 is a glorious beacon of lightPagan47 is a glorious beacon of lightPagan47 is a glorious beacon of lightPagan47 is a glorious beacon of lightPagan47 is a glorious beacon of lightPagan47 is a glorious beacon of light
Thanks: 9
Thanked 10 Times in 3 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default Crank But No Start

Alright guys, yes I have searched the forum and haven't had anyone give any answers to this problem. About a month ago VVT failed on my built MS6. Just got done doing the replacement of the VVT and now the car will crank but will not spark any cylinders. I have tried a new Cam position sensor, crank position sensor, new VVT, new coil packs, checked all grounds, etc. the car ran before with the failed actuator, but now will not start or fire any spark plugs. This has been very frustrating especially since the car has been down 9 months being built and it only drove for a month before having problems again. Any input would be great, ideas to try, etc. fuses to check, etc. I've checked most engine and in cabin fuses that could be related and can't find anything blown it disconnected. HELP
Pagan47 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 10-20-2015, 07:50 PM   #2
 
mxlplx71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: davenport, iowa
Posts: 3,262   (View Stats)
iTrader: (10)
Rep Power: 0
mxlplx71 is the leader of the worldmxlplx71 is the leader of the worldmxlplx71 is the leader of the worldmxlplx71 is the leader of the worldmxlplx71 is the leader of the worldmxlplx71 is the leader of the worldmxlplx71 is the leader of the worldmxlplx71 is the leader of the worldmxlplx71 is the leader of the worldmxlplx71 is the leader of the worldmxlplx71 is the leader of the world
Thanks: 4,196
Thanked 1,774 Times in 1,003 Posts
Groans: 128
Groaned at 15 Times in 7 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Grounds? Especially the ones by the hpfp , Codes?
__________________
09 Speed3 ,sold
2012= k04@18lbs, k&n intake, race pipe, selftune13.00@109.76
2013= BNRs2@20lbs E30 FreekedBuilt & Bolted12.63@113.75 full weight, nitto dr's
2014 06 ms6 gt3076 built bolted
2015 06 ms6 parted
2016 07 cosmic MS3

SOLDforged pistons/rods, bsd baffle, cs turbo, fmic, occ, spin on conv, catless long dp, e30, sri, cpe hpfp, rmm, ported im.
mxlplx71 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mxlplx71 For This Useful Post:
frothy (10-20-2015)
 Old 10-20-2015, 07:56 PM   #3
Raider is mah Homie
 
Easter Bunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Towson, Maryland
Posts: 6,460   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 7501
Easter Bunny is the leader of the worldEaster Bunny is the leader of the worldEaster Bunny is the leader of the worldEaster Bunny is the leader of the worldEaster Bunny is the leader of the worldEaster Bunny is the leader of the worldEaster Bunny is the leader of the worldEaster Bunny is the leader of the worldEaster Bunny is the leader of the worldEaster Bunny is the leader of the worldEaster Bunny is the leader of the world
Thanks: 54,831
Thanked 14,694 Times in 4,613 Posts
Groans: 2,978
Groaned at 94 Times in 82 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Its the ground by the Hpfp. @frothy; beat you to this one.
__________________

I hugged rfinkle2
Easter Bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Easter Bunny For This Useful Post:
frothy (10-20-2015), mxlplx71 (10-20-2015)
 Old 10-21-2015, 10:04 AM   #4
 
Pagan47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Utah
Posts: 18   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
Pagan47 is a glorious beacon of lightPagan47 is a glorious beacon of lightPagan47 is a glorious beacon of lightPagan47 is a glorious beacon of lightPagan47 is a glorious beacon of lightPagan47 is a glorious beacon of light
Thanks: 9
Thanked 10 Times in 3 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Originally Posted by Easter Bunny View Post
Its the ground by the Hpfp. @frothy; beat you to this one.
It is grounded. Only code is P0091. Everything visible is grounded and connected. Possibility it could be crank position sensor?
Pagan47 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 10-21-2015, 10:39 AM   #5
 
mxlplx71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: davenport, iowa
Posts: 3,262   (View Stats)
iTrader: (10)
Rep Power: 0
mxlplx71 is the leader of the worldmxlplx71 is the leader of the worldmxlplx71 is the leader of the worldmxlplx71 is the leader of the worldmxlplx71 is the leader of the worldmxlplx71 is the leader of the worldmxlplx71 is the leader of the worldmxlplx71 is the leader of the worldmxlplx71 is the leader of the worldmxlplx71 is the leader of the worldmxlplx71 is the leader of the world
Thanks: 4,196
Thanked 1,774 Times in 1,003 Posts
Groans: 128
Groaned at 15 Times in 7 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

do you have an accessport? check out fuel pressure.
can you hear the in tank pump come on?
__________________
09 Speed3 ,sold
2012= k04@18lbs, k&n intake, race pipe, selftune13.00@109.76
2013= BNRs2@20lbs E30 FreekedBuilt & Bolted12.63@113.75 full weight, nitto dr's
2014 06 ms6 gt3076 built bolted
2015 06 ms6 parted
2016 07 cosmic MS3

SOLDforged pistons/rods, bsd baffle, cs turbo, fmic, occ, spin on conv, catless long dp, e30, sri, cpe hpfp, rmm, ported im.
mxlplx71 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 10-21-2015, 10:45 AM   #6
 
frothy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,067   (View Stats)
iTrader: (1)
Rep Power: 0
frothy is the leader of the worldfrothy is the leader of the worldfrothy is the leader of the worldfrothy is the leader of the worldfrothy is the leader of the worldfrothy is the leader of the worldfrothy is the leader of the worldfrothy is the leader of the worldfrothy is the leader of the worldfrothy is the leader of the worldfrothy is the leader of the world
Thanks: 848
Thanked 1,379 Times in 594 Posts
Groans: 1
Groaned at 3 Times in 3 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

P0091:



frothy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to frothy For This Useful Post:
Easter Bunny (10-21-2015), MS3Shadow (10-21-2015), mxlplx71 (10-21-2015), WetzMS3 (10-21-2015)
 Old 10-21-2015, 05:26 PM   #7
 
Gawel30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 9   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
Gawel30 is on a distinguished road
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Groans: 0
Groaned at 2 Times in 1 Post
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

If you have a accessport check to see if you have rpm showing up, if not its probably something to do with crank sensor. You didn't happen to forget to put the trigger wheel on behind the crank pulley did you? (I haven't had one of these engine apart in a while but I believe they had a trigger wheel separate from the crank pulley)
Gawel30 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 10-21-2015, 07:04 PM   #8
 
frothy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,067   (View Stats)
iTrader: (1)
Rep Power: 0
frothy is the leader of the worldfrothy is the leader of the worldfrothy is the leader of the worldfrothy is the leader of the worldfrothy is the leader of the worldfrothy is the leader of the worldfrothy is the leader of the worldfrothy is the leader of the worldfrothy is the leader of the worldfrothy is the leader of the worldfrothy is the leader of the world
Thanks: 848
Thanked 1,379 Times in 594 Posts
Groans: 1
Groaned at 3 Times in 3 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Originally Posted by Gawel30 View Post
You didn't happen to forget to put the trigger wheel on behind the crank pulley did you? (I haven't had one of these engine apart in a while but I believe they had a trigger wheel separate from the crank pulley)
It's all one piece on these cars. There's no trigger wheel behind the crankshaft pulley.
frothy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frothy For This Useful Post:
Easter Bunny (10-21-2015)
 Old 10-21-2015, 07:12 PM   #9
 
davychronic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Palmer, Iowa
Posts: 1,154   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
davychronic is the leader of the worlddavychronic is the leader of the worlddavychronic is the leader of the worlddavychronic is the leader of the worlddavychronic is the leader of the worlddavychronic is the leader of the worlddavychronic is the leader of the worlddavychronic is the leader of the worlddavychronic is the leader of the worlddavychronic is the leader of the worlddavychronic is the leader of the world
Thanks: 152
Thanked 319 Times in 184 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 1 Time in 1 Post
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Im not positive but I doubt the spill valve code would cause a no start, and that coil ground has to almost be on there perfect so i would double and triple check that bitch of a wire. Did you happen to remove it because normally you should leave it on the bracket?
__________________
06 MS6 GT Titanium Gray II Metallic
davychronic is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 10-21-2015, 07:32 PM   #10
 
brandonnicholson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Leominster Mass
Posts: 1,698   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
brandonnicholson is the leader of the worldbrandonnicholson is the leader of the worldbrandonnicholson is the leader of the worldbrandonnicholson is the leader of the worldbrandonnicholson is the leader of the worldbrandonnicholson is the leader of the worldbrandonnicholson is the leader of the worldbrandonnicholson is the leader of the worldbrandonnicholson is the leader of the worldbrandonnicholson is the leader of the worldbrandonnicholson is the leader of the world
Thanks: 1,003
Thanked 904 Times in 557 Posts
Groans: 8
Groaned at 5 Times in 4 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Check the actual wire to the fuel pump ground. @Lakespeed6; had his connected and if i remember correctly we used a piece of wore from the battery to the pump to check and it started right up. Dont remember exactly... It was a while ago.. He could hive some insight.
Lakespeed6 likes this.
brandonnicholson is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brandonnicholson For This Useful Post:
Easter Bunny (10-21-2015)
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mazdaspeed 6 crank no start Mazdaspeedmike07 MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Troubleshoot/Diagnostics 6 10-11-2015 09:48 AM
Hard Start, Long Crank, Rough Idle red ghost MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Troubleshoot/Diagnostics 8 10-07-2014 10:24 PM
Long Crank at cold start maikell77 2010 MS3 - Troubleshoot/Diagnostics 4 03-13-2013 07:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:53 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
Template-Modifications by TMS
©Copyright 2008 ; 2014 Cymru Internet Services LLC | FYHN™ Autosports HQ
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Page generated in 0.31274 seconds with 26 queries