register gallery
 

Go Back   Mazdaspeed Forums >
MAZDASPEED SECTION
>
Mazdaspeed 3/6 MZR Gen1 Forums (2006-2009)
> MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Troubleshoot/Diagnostics

MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Troubleshoot/Diagnostics MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Troubleshoot/Diagnostics - Have a problem with the car? CEL Code? Want to discuss other issues? Come on in!


Welcome to Mazdaspeed Forums .

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

*When you join MSF as a registered user, there will be No Ads.

*Registered Members get access to the Off Topic Area of the Forum

*Registered Members have an opportunity to upgrade their accounts to VIP, which brings a host of goddies for supporting MSF such as Raffles, Additional Forum Access, More PM Storage, The ability to upload more Images and many other enhancements.

*Registered members also get access to the live chat box!
Reply
 
Bookmark and Share LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 Old 11-05-2013, 04:54 PM   #1
 
jnin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
jnin is an unknown quantity at this point
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default Idle issues

Hi guys
I am experiencing some idle issues on my mazdaspeed 6.
I recently installed a FMIC and since then the car idles at 1500rpm when in neutral and rolls on the street. As soon as the car stops the revs are going back to normal...
Any ideas what to look for?
Thanks
jnin is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 11-05-2013, 04:55 PM   #2
 
Etipp98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Parma, OH
Posts: 1,947   (View Stats)
iTrader: (18)
Rep Power: 988
Etipp98 is the leader of the worldEtipp98 is the leader of the worldEtipp98 is the leader of the worldEtipp98 is the leader of the worldEtipp98 is the leader of the worldEtipp98 is the leader of the worldEtipp98 is the leader of the worldEtipp98 is the leader of the worldEtipp98 is the leader of the worldEtipp98 is the leader of the worldEtipp98 is the leader of the world
Thanks: 545
Thanked 1,716 Times in 781 Posts
Groans: 17
Groaned at 7 Times in 4 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Need more info, what other mods do you have........
__________________
Parting out car, 800whp motor with 4k miles on it, 6466 turbo kit... ect

I also do diesel gear swaps hit me up for more info.
Etipp98 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 11-05-2013, 04:57 PM   #3
 
dale_gribble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 4,720   (View Stats)
iTrader: (3)
Rep Power: 5406
dale_gribble is the leader of the worlddale_gribble is the leader of the worlddale_gribble is the leader of the worlddale_gribble is the leader of the worlddale_gribble is the leader of the worlddale_gribble is the leader of the worlddale_gribble is the leader of the worlddale_gribble is the leader of the worlddale_gribble is the leader of the worlddale_gribble is the leader of the worlddale_gribble is the leader of the world
Thanks: 2,552
Thanked 10,522 Times in 2,900 Posts
Groans: 12
Groaned at 24 Times in 21 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Based on that question, I would start by looking for a good mechanic.
__________________
2006 MS6 WWP Sport - 340whp/350wtq
JBR 3"- BNRS3V2 - GS EBCS - CUSTOM FMIC - CS IM - LTR7IX - CMGS WMI & D07
GA - TURBOXS HEADER - FIDANZA FW - CP-E CATTED DP - 3" CATBACK
BILSTEIN - H&R SPRINGS - 18x8.5 +48 ROTA SVN - 265/35R18 HTR ZIII
MINI H1 6.0 - CAR LED TAILS

SEE MORE USING !SHOUTTAG.COM - ENTER: !6SPEED6
dale_gribble is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 11-05-2013, 04:58 PM   #4
 
jnin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
jnin is an unknown quantity at this point
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Thanks for the quick reply.
The other mod is a 3" CAI which I have it for a year with no issues. Problem started after the FMIC.
Thanks
jnin is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 11-05-2013, 04:58 PM   #5
 
Etipp98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Parma, OH
Posts: 1,947   (View Stats)
iTrader: (18)
Rep Power: 988
Etipp98 is the leader of the worldEtipp98 is the leader of the worldEtipp98 is the leader of the worldEtipp98 is the leader of the worldEtipp98 is the leader of the worldEtipp98 is the leader of the worldEtipp98 is the leader of the worldEtipp98 is the leader of the worldEtipp98 is the leader of the worldEtipp98 is the leader of the worldEtipp98 is the leader of the world
Thanks: 545
Thanked 1,716 Times in 781 Posts
Groans: 17
Groaned at 7 Times in 4 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

You need an accessport. Stock tune is a no go with the mods you have.
__________________
Parting out car, 800whp motor with 4k miles on it, 6466 turbo kit... ect

I also do diesel gear swaps hit me up for more info.
Etipp98 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 11-05-2013, 05:00 PM   #6
 
jnin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
jnin is an unknown quantity at this point
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

I got an accessport a couple days ago but I havent done anything with that yet as I didnt have time.
So by loading the OTS map which is closer to my mods will fix the issue?
Thanks
jnin is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 11-05-2013, 05:03 PM   #7
 
dale_gribble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 4,720   (View Stats)
iTrader: (3)
Rep Power: 5406
dale_gribble is the leader of the worlddale_gribble is the leader of the worlddale_gribble is the leader of the worlddale_gribble is the leader of the worlddale_gribble is the leader of the worlddale_gribble is the leader of the worlddale_gribble is the leader of the worlddale_gribble is the leader of the worlddale_gribble is the leader of the worlddale_gribble is the leader of the worlddale_gribble is the leader of the world
Thanks: 2,552
Thanked 10,522 Times in 2,900 Posts
Groans: 12
Groaned at 24 Times in 21 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

1) FMIC is too big of a change for the ECM's stock tune to compensate for. You are probably running too lean at idle due to increased airflow and the ECM cannot compensate enough to keep LTFTs at bay and AFR @ 14.7. Are you getting any codes/check engine light? I got a lean at idle CEL after I installed my FMIC until I updated my tune.

2) If everything worked before FMIC, and you installed FMIC and now you have issues, it is probably that something isn't hooked up right, you accidentally disconnected something or you have a boost leak at one of the many FMIC couplers.

Originally Posted by jnin View Post
I got an accessport a couple days ago but I havent done anything with that yet as I didnt have time.
So by loading the OTS map which is closer to my mods will fix the issue?
Thanks
It probably won't fix it, but you will get more information on what the car is doing. You really need to know what your LTFTs are doing and what your AFR is. Download a map close to yours, probably a stage 1, though the 3" intake makes it tricky. Just pick a Stage 1 + intake + IC tune for any intake and that should get you in ballpark.
__________________
2006 MS6 WWP Sport - 340whp/350wtq
JBR 3"- BNRS3V2 - GS EBCS - CUSTOM FMIC - CS IM - LTR7IX - CMGS WMI & D07
GA - TURBOXS HEADER - FIDANZA FW - CP-E CATTED DP - 3" CATBACK
BILSTEIN - H&R SPRINGS - 18x8.5 +48 ROTA SVN - 265/35R18 HTR ZIII
MINI H1 6.0 - CAR LED TAILS

SEE MORE USING !SHOUTTAG.COM - ENTER: !6SPEED6

Last edited by dale_gribble; 11-05-2013 at 05:04 PM. Reason: MSF Database - Automerged Doublepost
dale_gribble is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 11-05-2013, 05:18 PM   #8
 
jnin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
jnin is an unknown quantity at this point
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

No engine lights nothing at all.
Couplers are tight. I checked the pipping and everything was solid. Other than that car goes a bit better. Intercooler piping is 2.5" and dimensions of IC are 600x300x76 mm
jnin is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 11-05-2013, 05:27 PM   #9
 
Etipp98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Parma, OH
Posts: 1,947   (View Stats)
iTrader: (18)
Rep Power: 988
Etipp98 is the leader of the worldEtipp98 is the leader of the worldEtipp98 is the leader of the worldEtipp98 is the leader of the worldEtipp98 is the leader of the worldEtipp98 is the leader of the worldEtipp98 is the leader of the worldEtipp98 is the leader of the worldEtipp98 is the leader of the worldEtipp98 is the leader of the worldEtipp98 is the leader of the world
Thanks: 545
Thanked 1,716 Times in 781 Posts
Groans: 17
Groaned at 7 Times in 4 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Millimeters huh.....
__________________
Parting out car, 800whp motor with 4k miles on it, 6466 turbo kit... ect

I also do diesel gear swaps hit me up for more info.
Etipp98 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 11-05-2013, 05:36 PM   #10
 
jnin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
jnin is an unknown quantity at this point
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

yes millimeters.
jnin is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 11-06-2013, 10:44 AM   #11
 
ciezczak1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Orland Park il
Posts: 416   (View Stats)
iTrader: (2)
Rep Power: 0
ciezczak1 is the leader of the worldciezczak1 is the leader of the worldciezczak1 is the leader of the worldciezczak1 is the leader of the worldciezczak1 is the leader of the worldciezczak1 is the leader of the worldciezczak1 is the leader of the worldciezczak1 is the leader of the worldciezczak1 is the leader of the worldciezczak1 is the leader of the worldciezczak1 is the leader of the world
Thanks: 99
Thanked 159 Times in 92 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 4 Times in 2 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

This happens to me too sometimes any answers to it?

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
GT3076/ catless dp/ FMIC/ 3.5" CP-E Intake/ 3" Exhaust/autotech internals/ built block/ 3-port/denso itv22/ 6th-port
ciezczak1 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 11-06-2013, 11:44 AM   #12
 
jnin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
jnin is an unknown quantity at this point
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

I ve got it all the time when the car rolls in neutral only
jnin is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 11-06-2013, 12:13 PM   #13
 
dale_gribble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 4,720   (View Stats)
iTrader: (3)
Rep Power: 5406
dale_gribble is the leader of the worlddale_gribble is the leader of the worlddale_gribble is the leader of the worlddale_gribble is the leader of the worlddale_gribble is the leader of the worlddale_gribble is the leader of the worlddale_gribble is the leader of the worlddale_gribble is the leader of the worlddale_gribble is the leader of the worlddale_gribble is the leader of the worlddale_gribble is the leader of the world
Thanks: 2,552
Thanked 10,522 Times in 2,900 Posts
Groans: 12
Groaned at 24 Times in 21 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

post a log when its doing it with your ap.
__________________
2006 MS6 WWP Sport - 340whp/350wtq
JBR 3"- BNRS3V2 - GS EBCS - CUSTOM FMIC - CS IM - LTR7IX - CMGS WMI & D07
GA - TURBOXS HEADER - FIDANZA FW - CP-E CATTED DP - 3" CATBACK
BILSTEIN - H&R SPRINGS - 18x8.5 +48 ROTA SVN - 265/35R18 HTR ZIII
MINI H1 6.0 - CAR LED TAILS

SEE MORE USING !SHOUTTAG.COM - ENTER: !6SPEED6
dale_gribble is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 11-06-2013, 02:20 PM   #14
 
jnin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
jnin is an unknown quantity at this point
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Will do as soon as I found out how to do it :-)
jnin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issues with rough idle, no boost after intall of bolt-ons 08ms3stock4now MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Troubleshoot/Diagnostics 14 02-15-2013 10:28 AM
Report: Scion FR-S, Subaru BRZ rough idle issues require ECU reflash Haltech Automotive News 0 10-05-2012 09:00 AM
29 AFR at idle Zak MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Troubleshoot/Diagnostics 3 02-06-2012 01:07 PM
Idle still low after changes in ATR RichInAustinTX 2010 MS3 - ECU Computer Tuning 9 02-06-2012 10:24 AM
Strange Idle Issues after FMIC Install nytmar3 MazdaSpeed 3 - Engine, Transmission & Driveline 14 06-20-2008 11:11 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:41 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
Template-Modifications by TMS
©Copyright 2008 ; 2018 Cymru Internet Services LLC | FYHN™ Autosports HQ
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Page generated in 0.31810 seconds with 23 queries