register gallery
 

Go Back   Mazdaspeed Forums >
MAZDASPEED SECTION
>
Mazdaspeed 3/6 MZR Gen1 Forums (2006-2009)
> MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Troubleshoot/Diagnostics

MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Troubleshoot/Diagnostics MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Troubleshoot/Diagnostics - Have a problem with the car? CEL Code? Want to discuss other issues? Come on in!


Welcome to Mazdaspeed Forums .

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

*When you join MSF as a registered user, there will be No Ads.

*Registered Members get access to the Off Topic Area of the Forum

*Registered Members have an opportunity to upgrade their accounts to VIP, which brings a host of goddies for supporting MSF such as Raffles, Additional Forum Access, More PM Storage, The ability to upload more Images and many other enhancements.

*Registered members also get access to the live chat box!
Reply
 
Bookmark and Share LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 Old 01-13-2020, 12:56 AM   #1
 
Rh2racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 5   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
Rh2racing can only hope to improve
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 4 Times in 1 Post
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default P2006 Cel ok to bypass?

Ok so with the cel p2006 intake tumblers stuck closed, is it ok to rig it si they are always open? I know some people delete them. Mine is a different issue. The screw holding the plunger broke off in the threads. I think the previous owner was monkeying around with it. Would it be ok to just rig it so it's always open? I understand it may trigger a p2007or something but I'm trying to get my speed back to running. I'll deal with that later.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20200112_163327.jpg (1.28 MB, 2 views)
Rh2racing is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 01-13-2020, 06:40 AM   #2
 
Jeff23spl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Quebec
Posts: 2,198   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
Jeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the world
Thanks: 160
Thanked 589 Times in 470 Posts
Groans: 3
Groaned at 2 Times in 2 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

as a temporary option, you can just attach them open for now and drill the broken screw later....
the vtcs close half of the intake path at low rpm, i read it would increase low end torque. When it is stuck close i did experience a lost in max power but never tried to force them open.... Many run without them when they are in need of more intake flow with large turbos....
__________________
Mazda for life...or until i can afford something better...

2007 rusted Speed6... Forged with meth and a 3076 in progress...
1993 Ford Probe KLZE 143dB
2012 Mazda3 Gs-sky 6.5l/100 when transporting speed parts
1989 GM 6.2 diesel pickup
Wife drive 2010 CX7

2007 speed3 burned (i'm proud to ran 12.7s with it)

...Because French Canadian...

If you check for leaks and you didn't made a test under compressor pressure, you aren't done checking for leaks....
Jeff23spl is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 01-13-2020, 10:46 AM   #3
 
Rh2racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 5   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
Rh2racing can only hope to improve
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 4 Times in 1 Post
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

The part that goes down that the sensor rides on, is that the actuator that holds the vtcs open? (Where the arm is)
Rh2racing is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 01-13-2020, 02:17 PM   #4
Police - Grammarhead
 
Vansquish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Metro Detroit, MI
Posts: 7,254
iTrader: (1)
Rep Power: 3742
Vansquish is the leader of the worldVansquish is the leader of the worldVansquish is the leader of the worldVansquish is the leader of the worldVansquish is the leader of the worldVansquish is the leader of the worldVansquish is the leader of the worldVansquish is the leader of the worldVansquish is the leader of the worldVansquish is the leader of the worldVansquish is the leader of the world
Thanks: 8,738
Thanked 7,028 Times in 2,822 Posts
Groans: 1,910
Groaned at 45 Times in 26 Posts
Default

The pale green doohickey with the plastic plunger arm is the VTCS actuator (the thing that moves the arm of the VTCS flapper).
__________________
Having trouble finding something on MSF? Use MS3Shadow's search tool:SEARCH MSF HERE!

Vansquish is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Vansquish For This Useful Post:
Jeff23spl (01-16-2020)
 Old 01-16-2020, 06:29 AM   #5
 
Jeff23spl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Quebec
Posts: 2,198   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
Jeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the world
Thanks: 160
Thanked 589 Times in 470 Posts
Groans: 3
Groaned at 2 Times in 2 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon....N1tPL._AC_.jpg

this is the actuator but after a second look, i think the bad screw just hold the limit switch feedback that tell the ecm if the vtcs are open or closed. you could even drill a third screw in the middle if you cannot get the other one out, it doesn't take much clamping force to keep it there....
http://i.imgur.com/eRmseV5.jpg
__________________
Mazda for life...or until i can afford something better...

2007 rusted Speed6... Forged with meth and a 3076 in progress...
1993 Ford Probe KLZE 143dB
2012 Mazda3 Gs-sky 6.5l/100 when transporting speed parts
1989 GM 6.2 diesel pickup
Wife drive 2010 CX7

2007 speed3 burned (i'm proud to ran 12.7s with it)

...Because French Canadian...

If you check for leaks and you didn't made a test under compressor pressure, you aren't done checking for leaks....
Jeff23spl is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jeff23spl For This Useful Post:
Vansquish (01-16-2020)
 Old 01-16-2020, 06:40 AM   #6
Police - Grammarhead
 
Vansquish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Metro Detroit, MI
Posts: 7,254
iTrader: (1)
Rep Power: 3742
Vansquish is the leader of the worldVansquish is the leader of the worldVansquish is the leader of the worldVansquish is the leader of the worldVansquish is the leader of the worldVansquish is the leader of the worldVansquish is the leader of the worldVansquish is the leader of the worldVansquish is the leader of the worldVansquish is the leader of the worldVansquish is the leader of the world
Thanks: 8,738
Thanked 7,028 Times in 2,822 Posts
Groans: 1,910
Groaned at 45 Times in 26 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Rh2racing View Post
Ok so with the cel p2006 intake tumblers stuck closed, is it ok to rig it si they are always open? I know some people delete them. Mine is a different issue. The screw holding the plunger broke off in the threads. I think the previous owner was monkeying around with it. Would it be ok to just rig it so it's always open? I understand it may trigger a p2007or something but I'm trying to get my speed back to running. I'll deal with that later.
You have a couple of options. You can either drill out the screw and re-mount the limit switch bracket (and the switch) using that first hole, or use the secondary screw hole (in the foreground of your picture) to mount the limit switch without using the first hole at all.

Here's a post in a thread about fixing P2006 on our cars.
Now what..P2006

And here is a whole thread with excellent and detailed pictures showing you how to fix your issue.
How To: Fix CEL P2006
__________________
Having trouble finding something on MSF? Use MS3Shadow's search tool:SEARCH MSF HERE!

Vansquish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To: Fix CEL P2006 kdotspeed MazdaSpeed 3 - How-To's 39 06-11-2019 11:32 AM
Now what..P2006 LemonWrath MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Troubleshoot/Diagnostics 31 11-01-2017 07:32 PM
MS6 P2006 CEL just came on tmaiorca MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Troubleshoot/Diagnostics 6 12-28-2015 02:49 PM
P2006 CEL on Azlander MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Troubleshoot/Diagnostics 0 10-25-2013 09:33 AM
CEL On- P2006 supracelica32 MazdaSpeed 6 - Engine, Transmission & Driveline 6 03-23-2010 05:41 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:38 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
Template-Modifications by TMS
©Copyright 2008 ; 2019 Cymru Internet Services LLC | FYHN™ Autosports HQ
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Page generated in 0.26567 seconds with 23 queries