register gallery
 

Go Back   Mazdaspeed Forums >
MAZDASPEED SECTION
>
Mazdaspeed 3/6 MZR Gen1 Forums (2006-2009)
> MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Troubleshoot/Diagnostics

MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Troubleshoot/Diagnostics MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Troubleshoot/Diagnostics - Have a problem with the car? CEL Code? Want to discuss other issues? Come on in!


Welcome to Mazdaspeed Forums .

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

*When you join MSF as a registered user, there will be No Ads.

*Registered Members get access to the Off Topic Area of the Forum

*Registered Members have an opportunity to upgrade their accounts to VIP, which brings a host of goddies for supporting MSF such as Raffles, Additional Forum Access, More PM Storage, The ability to upload more Images and many other enhancements.

*Registered members also get access to the live chat box!
Reply
 
Bookmark and Share LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 Old 04-05-2010, 09:56 AM   #1
 
vbt101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: DC
Posts: 733   (View Stats)
iTrader: (3)
Rep Power: 200
vbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the world
Thanks: 408
Thanked 172 Times in 96 Posts
Groans: 5
Groaned at 2 Times in 2 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default Vacuum leak, but no boost leak?

I recently installed the PTP IM spacer, EGR delete, TB bypass & injector seals. Now my fuel trims are crazy (+25 at part throttle). My idle trims were 0 before the install, but now they are around +5.

I used an air compressor and did a boost leak test at the hot side of the FMIC and it was able to hold 20psi just fine. Driving it, the car holds 20psi just fine. I very carefully redid the intake -> turbo side of things 3 times already with no change.

It may still be the intake, but I've redone it a number of times, and I didn't have this problem before the installs, so I have a hard time believing there is an issue there.

Anybody have thoughts on this? What could leak under vacuum, but not boost?
vbt101 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 04-05-2010, 10:01 AM   #2
Banned
 
phillyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: misery
Posts: 14,702   (View Stats)
iTrader: (7)
Rep Power: 0
phillyb is the leader of the worldphillyb is the leader of the worldphillyb is the leader of the worldphillyb is the leader of the worldphillyb is the leader of the worldphillyb is the leader of the worldphillyb is the leader of the worldphillyb is the leader of the worldphillyb is the leader of the worldphillyb is the leader of the worldphillyb is the leader of the world
Thanks: 11,510
Thanked 18,750 Times in 5,168 Posts
Groans: 1,940
Groaned at 886 Times in 632 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

i had a similar thing happen when i installed a tb spacer.
car was super lean at idle, but ran just fine once at a certain rpm.
took the spacer off, no more problems.
i know it's a pita or whatever, but see what happens if you take off the im spacer.
phillyb is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 04-05-2010, 10:17 AM   #3
 
vbt101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: DC
Posts: 733   (View Stats)
iTrader: (3)
Rep Power: 200
vbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the world
Thanks: 408
Thanked 172 Times in 96 Posts
Groans: 5
Groaned at 2 Times in 2 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

You think the IM spacer could still be an issue after the boost test?

Is it likely that this is related to the injector seals? Like maybe the injectors arent seated correctly?
vbt101 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 04-05-2010, 10:18 AM   #4
Banned
 
phillyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: misery
Posts: 14,702   (View Stats)
iTrader: (7)
Rep Power: 0
phillyb is the leader of the worldphillyb is the leader of the worldphillyb is the leader of the worldphillyb is the leader of the worldphillyb is the leader of the worldphillyb is the leader of the worldphillyb is the leader of the worldphillyb is the leader of the worldphillyb is the leader of the worldphillyb is the leader of the worldphillyb is the leader of the world
Thanks: 11,510
Thanked 18,750 Times in 5,168 Posts
Groans: 1,940
Groaned at 886 Times in 632 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

yeah, i have no idea.
good luck
phillyb is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 04-05-2010, 10:22 AM   #5
 
R.MS3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 987   (View Stats)
iTrader: (1)
Rep Power: 0
R.MS3 is the leader of the worldR.MS3 is the leader of the worldR.MS3 is the leader of the worldR.MS3 is the leader of the worldR.MS3 is the leader of the worldR.MS3 is the leader of the worldR.MS3 is the leader of the worldR.MS3 is the leader of the worldR.MS3 is the leader of the worldR.MS3 is the leader of the worldR.MS3 is the leader of the world
Thanks: 71
Thanked 610 Times in 271 Posts
Groans: 5
Groaned at 7 Times in 7 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Might be your purge valve crapping out.
R.MS3 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 04-05-2010, 11:07 AM   #6
 
vbt101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: DC
Posts: 733   (View Stats)
iTrader: (3)
Rep Power: 200
vbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the world
Thanks: 408
Thanked 172 Times in 96 Posts
Groans: 5
Groaned at 2 Times in 2 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Sweet. I have an extra one of those. I'm not really clear on their functionality. Don't they only affect at idle?
vbt101 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 04-05-2010, 11:39 AM   #7
 
Shanems3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Houma LA
Posts: 916   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
Shanems3 is the leader of the worldShanems3 is the leader of the worldShanems3 is the leader of the worldShanems3 is the leader of the worldShanems3 is the leader of the worldShanems3 is the leader of the worldShanems3 is the leader of the worldShanems3 is the leader of the worldShanems3 is the leader of the worldShanems3 is the leader of the worldShanems3 is the leader of the world
Thanks: 285
Thanked 966 Times in 113 Posts
Groans: 21
Groaned at 4 Times in 2 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

flux capacitor is going out.....




seriously, if you think you have a vaccuum leak, get some carb cleaner and spray it on the suspected area of the leak.. if the idle bumps up, there is you leak..
__________________
Shane
2011 Mustang GT Premium
Performance White
Sync | Shacker 500 | Rapid Spec 401A | Exterior Package 5 | California Special Valance | Boss 302 Splitter | Bama Tune | Bassani Axleback
Shanems3 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 04-05-2010, 12:05 PM   #8
 
vbt101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: DC
Posts: 733   (View Stats)
iTrader: (3)
Rep Power: 200
vbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the world
Thanks: 408
Thanked 172 Times in 96 Posts
Groans: 5
Groaned at 2 Times in 2 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Is carb cleaner bad for hi-temp paints? I suspect it will jack up my IM paint if I try to spray anything on it. I can try it on some of the other areas though.
vbt101 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 04-05-2010, 06:26 PM   #9
 
Shanems3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Houma LA
Posts: 916   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
Shanems3 is the leader of the worldShanems3 is the leader of the worldShanems3 is the leader of the worldShanems3 is the leader of the worldShanems3 is the leader of the worldShanems3 is the leader of the worldShanems3 is the leader of the worldShanems3 is the leader of the worldShanems3 is the leader of the worldShanems3 is the leader of the worldShanems3 is the leader of the world
Thanks: 285
Thanked 966 Times in 113 Posts
Groans: 21
Groaned at 4 Times in 2 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

o yeah, it will strip paint... i use it to spray on vacuum lines and along the intake manifold and head for supected leaks..
__________________
Shane
2011 Mustang GT Premium
Performance White
Sync | Shacker 500 | Rapid Spec 401A | Exterior Package 5 | California Special Valance | Boss 302 Splitter | Bama Tune | Bassani Axleback
Shanems3 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 04-06-2010, 06:57 AM   #10
 
vbt101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: DC
Posts: 733   (View Stats)
iTrader: (3)
Rep Power: 200
vbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the world
Thanks: 408
Thanked 172 Times in 96 Posts
Groans: 5
Groaned at 2 Times in 2 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

is it possible that leaky/improperly seated injectors are causing this? my fuel pressure definitely goes up over 1700....i havent checked it at WOT to see if it holds though. kinda makes me nervous trying though. I'm getting a CPe CAI in this week, so hopefully that puts to bed any weird MAF curve issues & reduces all those leak-prone couplers..
vbt101 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 04-06-2010, 07:17 AM   #11
 
bova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 3,815   (View Stats)
iTrader: (5)
Rep Power: 0
bova is the leader of the worldbova is the leader of the worldbova is the leader of the worldbova is the leader of the worldbova is the leader of the worldbova is the leader of the worldbova is the leader of the worldbova is the leader of the worldbova is the leader of the worldbova is the leader of the worldbova is the leader of the world
Thanks: 17,174
Thanked 6,489 Times in 876 Posts
Groans: 45
Groaned at 39 Times in 38 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

perhaps there is something loose on your intake manifold. check the hose that goes from the pcv to the back of the intake manifold.
bova is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 04-08-2010, 07:26 AM   #12
 
R.MS3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 987   (View Stats)
iTrader: (1)
Rep Power: 0
R.MS3 is the leader of the worldR.MS3 is the leader of the worldR.MS3 is the leader of the worldR.MS3 is the leader of the worldR.MS3 is the leader of the worldR.MS3 is the leader of the worldR.MS3 is the leader of the worldR.MS3 is the leader of the worldR.MS3 is the leader of the worldR.MS3 is the leader of the worldR.MS3 is the leader of the world
Thanks: 71
Thanked 610 Times in 271 Posts
Groans: 5
Groaned at 7 Times in 7 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

A little off-topic from this one but in the same "area"...

Has anyone checked their LTFT when STOCK? I recently had to put my back back to stock to take it to the dealer and i noticed on stock tune/stock car, my trims sometimes reached almost +9% when accelerating and +4% when idle.

Vaccum seems good at -20/-21 and i think it's holding boost well so i was just wondering what other people has experienced. Just a note, when i put my SRI on a stock tune, trims went to +20% w/ a CEL as well.
R.MS3 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 04-08-2010, 07:29 AM   #13
Banned
 
phillyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: misery
Posts: 14,702   (View Stats)
iTrader: (7)
Rep Power: 0
phillyb is the leader of the worldphillyb is the leader of the worldphillyb is the leader of the worldphillyb is the leader of the worldphillyb is the leader of the worldphillyb is the leader of the worldphillyb is the leader of the worldphillyb is the leader of the worldphillyb is the leader of the worldphillyb is the leader of the worldphillyb is the leader of the world
Thanks: 11,510
Thanked 18,750 Times in 5,168 Posts
Groans: 1,940
Groaned at 886 Times in 632 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

op, you get this fixed yet?
phillyb is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 04-08-2010, 09:23 AM   #14
 
vbt101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: DC
Posts: 733   (View Stats)
iTrader: (3)
Rep Power: 200
vbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the world
Thanks: 408
Thanked 172 Times in 96 Posts
Groans: 5
Groaned at 2 Times in 2 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

sorry guys, had some people visiting this week. ill get back on this tonight. i'll keep the thread updated as i check/find things. hopefully it'll help someone else in the future.

Originally Posted by ReNaToMS3 View Post
A little off-topic from this one but in the same "area"...

Has anyone checked their LTFT when STOCK? I recently had to put my back back to stock to take it to the dealer and i noticed on stock tune/stock car, my trims sometimes reached almost +9% when accelerating and +4% when idle.

Vaccum seems good at -20/-21 and i think it's holding boost well so i was just wondering what other people has experienced. Just a note, when i put my SRI on a stock tune, trims went to +20% w/ a CEL as well.
I haven't checked when I was stock, but I bet there is an air leak causing this. If you're stock, the bypass valve leaks. Also, the stock turbo inlet pipe is junk, and is often not clamped onto the turbo correctly. I read an old post somewhere on here where the guy had the SRI installed and said his car ran like trash and the trims were high. Once he got the turbo inlet pipe as well, his trims went from 18-20 down to 8 and his car was fast again.

Originally Posted by ReNaToMS3 View Post
Might be your purge valve crapping out.
It seems to be working fine. Also, swapped in my old one, which was working fine as well. No change.

Last edited by vbt101; 04-08-2010 at 09:23 AM. Reason: MSF Database - Automerged Doublepost
vbt101 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 04-08-2010, 09:12 PM   #15
Lex
Engineered Tuning

 
Lex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 12,648   (View Stats)
iTrader: (6)
Rep Power: 11990
Lex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the world
Thanks: 6,485
Thanked 23,341 Times in 6,955 Posts
Groans: 13
Groaned at 44 Times in 38 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Are you able to get a log showing STFT, LTFT, MAF voltage, AFR as you slowly increase load from idle to boost?

A leak between your MAF and the turbo will cause high LTFTs at all times.

A leak between the turbo and engine itself will have high LTFTs at idle (vacuum) but negative LTFTs under boost - this is especially pronounced if it's between the throttle body and intake ports. Is this the scenario you are seeing? It appears like there's a leak at the manifold to motor interface (after the throttle body) and the gasket is the most suspect.
Lex is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Lex For This Useful Post:
MS3 Ventura (04-17-2010), tomek_46 (04-02-2012), vbt101 (04-08-2010)
 Old 04-08-2010, 09:26 PM   #16
 
vbt101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: DC
Posts: 733   (View Stats)
iTrader: (3)
Rep Power: 200
vbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the world
Thanks: 408
Thanked 172 Times in 96 Posts
Groans: 5
Groaned at 2 Times in 2 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Thanks, Alex. Always learning from you. I'll post a DH log of all of these things tomorrow as soon as I can.
vbt101 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 04-08-2010, 09:29 PM   #17
 
R.MS3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 987   (View Stats)
iTrader: (1)
Rep Power: 0
R.MS3 is the leader of the worldR.MS3 is the leader of the worldR.MS3 is the leader of the worldR.MS3 is the leader of the worldR.MS3 is the leader of the worldR.MS3 is the leader of the worldR.MS3 is the leader of the worldR.MS3 is the leader of the worldR.MS3 is the leader of the worldR.MS3 is the leader of the worldR.MS3 is the leader of the world
Thanks: 71
Thanked 610 Times in 271 Posts
Groans: 5
Groaned at 7 Times in 7 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

If that's for me, sure I can. Up to 28g/s, ltfts seem pretty steady at 3 to 4%, sometimes even 2. As you go past 28g/s, trims jump to 8-9%. Didn't really do a wot log yet.

If you have a leak and a calibrated maf via atr, would the trims keep going up to cel range? Reason I ask is when I had the tune done the trims would barely move up or down.
R.MS3 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 04-10-2010, 12:39 AM   #18
 
vbt101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: DC
Posts: 733   (View Stats)
iTrader: (3)
Rep Power: 200
vbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the world
Thanks: 408
Thanked 172 Times in 96 Posts
Groans: 5
Groaned at 2 Times in 2 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Originally Posted by Lex View Post
Are you able to get a log showing STFT, LTFT, MAF voltage, AFR as you slowly increase load from idle to boost?

A leak between your MAF and the turbo will cause high LTFTs at all times.

A leak between the turbo and engine itself will have high LTFTs at idle (vacuum) but negative LTFTs under boost - this is especially pronounced if it's between the throttle body and intake ports. Is this the scenario you are seeing? It appears like there's a leak at the manifold to motor interface (after the throttle body) and the gasket is the most suspect.
I tried to get a slow pull from idle to max boost, but once I got above 5psi (I have a SB so it's clipped to 5psi), the boost pins pretty quickly...so the log seems a little messy to me. Let me know if it doesnt have enough information to infer anything from and I can take another. Looks like the trims are high all the time, so based on what you said, it's a pre-turbo leak. Is that correct? Can we rule out the IM gasket? What about fuel injector leaks?



http://lh6.ggpht.com/_9GBImNFI4t8/S8...low%20pull.jpg

Last edited by vbt101; 04-17-2010 at 05:37 PM.
vbt101 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 04-17-2010, 05:45 PM   #19
Lex
Engineered Tuning

 
Lex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 12,648   (View Stats)
iTrader: (6)
Rep Power: 11990
Lex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the world
Thanks: 6,485
Thanked 23,341 Times in 6,955 Posts
Groans: 13
Groaned at 44 Times in 38 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Hmm you have a SB. Did you adjust the MAF calibration at all or remove/reinstall the harness? Your STFTs should drop to 0 when WOT - do they ever do this?

The injectors won't leak in the same way port injectors leak since the leak will be directly in the combustion chamber. You would hear them if they leaked.
Lex is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 04-17-2010, 05:58 PM   #20
 
vbt101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: DC
Posts: 733   (View Stats)
iTrader: (3)
Rep Power: 200
vbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the world
Thanks: 408
Thanked 172 Times in 96 Posts
Groans: 5
Groaned at 2 Times in 2 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Out of curiosity, what will the injectors sound like if they leak? I don't hear anything out of the ordinary as my STFTs rise with the throttle opening, so I bet they are fine.

1. I didn't do any MAF calibration before/after the install.
2. I DID remove the SB Harness though.
3. STFTs do drop to 0 at WOT. What would cause them to not? Not enough MAP built up?
vbt101 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 04-17-2010, 06:07 PM   #21
Lex
Engineered Tuning

 
Lex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 12,648   (View Stats)
iTrader: (6)
Rep Power: 11990
Lex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the world
Thanks: 6,485
Thanked 23,341 Times in 6,955 Posts
Groans: 13
Groaned at 44 Times in 38 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Crackling and popping is what the injectors sound like when they leak and you get KR.

Perhaps the issue is with the SB altering the MAF signal slightly. Remove the SB and PNP harness. Idle the car and see if STFTs/LTFTs fall more into place.
Lex is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 04-17-2010, 07:57 PM   #22
 
vbt101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: DC
Posts: 733   (View Stats)
iTrader: (3)
Rep Power: 200
vbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the world
Thanks: 408
Thanked 172 Times in 96 Posts
Groans: 5
Groaned at 2 Times in 2 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Damn. Alright, tried that & the trims reacted in roughly the same way with and without the PNP/SB.

I'm gonna try replacing the intake with a CPe CAI and switching my BOV to VTA (that recirc tube always looks like it has a sketchy joint with the BOV & its one of the few remaining leak prone areas I'm gonna have).

Lex, do you think it makes sense to go this route or do you think there are smarter things I can try?
vbt101 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 04-17-2010, 10:01 PM   #23
Lex
Engineered Tuning

 
Lex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 12,648   (View Stats)
iTrader: (6)
Rep Power: 11990
Lex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the worldLex is the leader of the world
Thanks: 6,485
Thanked 23,341 Times in 6,955 Posts
Groans: 13
Groaned at 44 Times in 38 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

I think you should focus on the things that you did before this change happened.

I would focus here:
PTP IM spacer, EGR delete

Also by TB Bypass do you mean you removed the coolant from going through the TB? I hope you don't live in a very cold climate.
Lex is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 04-18-2010, 12:06 PM   #24
 
vbt101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: DC
Posts: 733   (View Stats)
iTrader: (3)
Rep Power: 200
vbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the worldvbt101 is the leader of the world
Thanks: 408
Thanked 172 Times in 96 Posts
Groans: 5
Groaned at 2 Times in 2 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Man, I bet it's the EGR delete. That block-off cap didn't seem to want to seat flush. I remember wondering if it would seal properly. It def looked like it pressed against the block okay, so I assumed it was good. I'm gonna see if I can find the leak with propane, as soon as I get some.\\

Originally Posted by Lex View Post
Also by TB Bypass do you mean you removed the coolant from going through the TB? I hope you don't live in a very cold climate.
That is what I mean. I live in DC. It gets below freezing in the winter. Is that bad?

Last edited by vbt101; 04-18-2010 at 12:06 PM. Reason: MSF Database - Automerged Doublepost
vbt101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I think the my ms3 has a boost leak... taf0422 MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Troubleshoot/Diagnostics 9 01-06-2010 03:49 AM
Possible MS6 Boost Leak Need Help TheNewGuy MazdaSpeed 6 - Engine, Transmission & Driveline 7 12-10-2009 07:18 PM
Is this a boost leak? gsrtype1 MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Turbo Induction 15 06-08-2009 04:48 PM
Do I have a boost leak? Redsand426 MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Turbo Induction 15 03-28-2009 05:05 AM
Boost leak or what? TotallyNotAmused MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Turbo Induction 12 04-15-2008 04:33 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:59 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
Template-Modifications by TMS
©Copyright 2008 ; 2014 Cymru Internet Services LLC | FYHN™ Autosports HQ
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Page generated in 0.42334 seconds with 25 queries