register gallery
 

Go Back   Mazdaspeed Forums >
MAZDASPEED SECTION
>
Mazdaspeed 3 MZR Gen2 Forums (2010-2013)
> 2010 MS3 - Engine, Transmission & Driveline


Welcome to Mazdaspeed Forums .

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

*When you join MSF as a registered user, there will be No Ads.

*Registered Members get access to the Off Topic Area of the Forum

*Registered Members have an opportunity to upgrade their accounts to VIP, which brings a host of goddies for supporting MSF such as Raffles, Additional Forum Access, More PM Storage, The ability to upload more Images and many other enhancements.

*Registered members also get access to the live chat box!
Reply
 
Bookmark and Share LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 Old 11-08-2019, 08:36 PM   #1
 
DadliMS3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 13   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
DadliMS3 will become famous soon enoughDadliMS3 will become famous soon enough
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 1 Time in 1 Post
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default leaking transmission

A few weeks ago, I changed the oil in my MS3 for the first time since it was imported and noticed that there seemed to be oil residue/leakage around the transmission housing. Could it be a worn seal? at present the car has done just over 102k km, and i am planning to change the timing belt and sometime next year upgrade the engine mounts..
DadliMS3 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 11-11-2019, 12:13 PM   #2
 
GohanX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Graham, NC
Posts: 61   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
GohanX is a splendid one to beholdGohanX is a splendid one to beholdGohanX is a splendid one to beholdGohanX is a splendid one to beholdGohanX is a splendid one to beholdGohanX is a splendid one to behold
Thanks: 7
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Probably the shaft pivot seal, my 6 is doing the same thing.

HOW-TO: shaft pivot seal replaced

How to is for the Speed 6, it's a little easier with a 3.
GohanX is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to GohanX For This Useful Post:
DadliMS3 (11-12-2019)
 Old 11-11-2019, 02:09 PM   #3
 
Jeff23spl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Quebec
Posts: 2,133   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
Jeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the world
Thanks: 155
Thanked 564 Times in 449 Posts
Groans: 3
Groaned at 2 Times in 2 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

it depend where the oil is coming from, pivot seal, axles seal or else ?

there is no timing belt but a chain, it could be loose and need replacement. you can found infos on the how too vvt thread but you will see it isn,t an easy job and on a second gen, you do it only when it is loose.
__________________
Mazda for life...or until i can afford something better...

2007 rusted Speed6... in progress...
1993 Ford Probe KLZE 143dB
2012 Mazda3 Gs-sky 6.5l/100 when transporting speed parts
1989 GM 6.2 diesel pickup
Wife drive 2010 CX7

2007 speed3 burned (i'm proud to ran 12.7s with it)

...Because French Canadian...

If you check for leaks and you didn't made a test under compressor pressure, you aren't done checking for leaks....
Jeff23spl is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 11-12-2019, 07:07 AM   #4
 
Rose City Speed6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 53   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
Rose City Speed6 is a name known to allRose City Speed6 is a name known to allRose City Speed6 is a name known to allRose City Speed6 is a name known to allRose City Speed6 is a name known to allRose City Speed6 is a name known to all
Thanks: 24
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 3 Times in 1 Post
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

It was axle seals for my Speed6.
Rose City Speed6 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Rose City Speed6 For This Useful Post:
DadliMS3 (11-12-2019)
 Old 11-12-2019, 10:51 AM   #5
 
DadliMS3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 13   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
DadliMS3 will become famous soon enoughDadliMS3 will become famous soon enough
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 1 Time in 1 Post
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Originally Posted by GohanX View Post
Probably the shaft pivot seal, my 6 is doing the same thing.

HOW-TO: shaft pivot seal replaced

How to is for the Speed 6, it's a little easier with a 3.
Thank you, I was wondering if it was that.
DadliMS3 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 11-12-2019, 12:56 PM   #6
 
DadliMS3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 13   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
DadliMS3 will become famous soon enoughDadliMS3 will become famous soon enough
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 1 Time in 1 Post
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Originally Posted by Jeff23spl View Post
it depend where the oil is coming from, pivot seal, axles seal or else ?

there is no timing belt but a chain, it could be loose and need replacement. you can found infos on the how too vvt thread but you will see it isn,t an easy job and on a second gen, you do it only when it is loose.

i bought a belf for the alternator the day. but is definitely oil residue by the tranny. More towards the bottom end. noticed it when I was changing the oil.

The car has just done 103k km and i can imagine now is the time to update alot of things on it including seals etc.

Last edited by DadliMS3; 11-12-2019 at 12:56 PM. Reason: MSF Database - Automerged Doublepost
DadliMS3 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 11-12-2019, 02:03 PM   #7
 
deuce_WI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kenosha, WI
Posts: 234   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
deuce_WI has a reputation beyond reputedeuce_WI has a reputation beyond reputedeuce_WI has a reputation beyond reputedeuce_WI has a reputation beyond reputedeuce_WI has a reputation beyond reputedeuce_WI has a reputation beyond reputedeuce_WI has a reputation beyond reputedeuce_WI has a reputation beyond reputedeuce_WI has a reputation beyond reputedeuce_WI has a reputation beyond reputedeuce_WI has a reputation beyond repute
Thanks: 5
Thanked 74 Times in 51 Posts
Groans: 5
Groaned at 6 Times in 2 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

If the breather near the pivot shaft seal is clogged / bad, fluid will blow past the pivot shaft seal. If you replace one, I would just do both.
deuce_WI is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 11-12-2019, 02:57 PM   #8
 
Jeff23spl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Quebec
Posts: 2,133   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
Jeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the world
Thanks: 155
Thanked 564 Times in 449 Posts
Groans: 3
Groaned at 2 Times in 2 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

clean it with brake cleaner and check again in a week to see where it comes from.

btw check fluid level asap to make sure there is enough
__________________
Mazda for life...or until i can afford something better...

2007 rusted Speed6... in progress...
1993 Ford Probe KLZE 143dB
2012 Mazda3 Gs-sky 6.5l/100 when transporting speed parts
1989 GM 6.2 diesel pickup
Wife drive 2010 CX7

2007 speed3 burned (i'm proud to ran 12.7s with it)

...Because French Canadian...

If you check for leaks and you didn't made a test under compressor pressure, you aren't done checking for leaks....
Jeff23spl is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 11-12-2019, 04:22 PM   #9
 
DadliMS3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 13   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
DadliMS3 will become famous soon enoughDadliMS3 will become famous soon enough
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 1 Time in 1 Post
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Originally Posted by Jeff23spl View Post
clean it with brake cleaner and check again in a week to see where it comes from.

btw check fluid level asap to make sure there is enough
When you say fluid level what fluid are you refering to?
DadliMS3 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 11-13-2019, 06:43 AM   #10
 
Jeff23spl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Quebec
Posts: 2,133   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
Jeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the worldJeff23spl is the leader of the world
Thanks: 155
Thanked 564 Times in 449 Posts
Groans: 3
Groaned at 2 Times in 2 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

You talk about transmission leak...it would be logic to check fluid level on what it is leaking
__________________
Mazda for life...or until i can afford something better...

2007 rusted Speed6... in progress...
1993 Ford Probe KLZE 143dB
2012 Mazda3 Gs-sky 6.5l/100 when transporting speed parts
1989 GM 6.2 diesel pickup
Wife drive 2010 CX7

2007 speed3 burned (i'm proud to ran 12.7s with it)

...Because French Canadian...

If you check for leaks and you didn't made a test under compressor pressure, you aren't done checking for leaks....
Jeff23spl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Leaking Transmission - MS3 Gen1 mktx01 MazdaSpeed 3 - Engine, Transmission & Driveline 1 04-12-2017 03:05 PM
Transmission Change Cover is Leaking embiggenedmini MazdaSpeed 6 - Engine, Transmission & Driveline 2 04-26-2016 02:06 PM
Transmission Leaking Mattyhawk1 MazdaSpeed 3 - Engine, Transmission & Driveline 5 11-02-2015 08:57 AM
leaking transmission after downpipe install sundowned MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Troubleshoot/Diagnostics 9 06-08-2013 12:24 AM
Leaking something out of the transmission/transfer case I think. scnewt MazdaSpeed 6 - Engine, Transmission & Driveline 25 03-19-2013 06:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:08 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
Template-Modifications by TMS
©Copyright 2008 ; 2019 Cymru Internet Services LLC | FYHN™ Autosports HQ
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Page generated in 0.31487 seconds with 24 queries