register gallery
 

Go Back   Mazdaspeed Forums >
MAZDASPEED SECTION
>
Mazdaspeed 3 MZR Gen2 Forums (2010-2013)
> 2010 MS3 - Troubleshoot/Diagnostics


Welcome to Mazdaspeed Forums .

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

*When you join MSF as a registered user, there will be No Ads.

*Registered Members get access to the Off Topic Area of the Forum

*Registered Members have an opportunity to upgrade their accounts to VIP, which brings a host of goddies for supporting MSF such as Raffles, Additional Forum Access, More PM Storage, The ability to upload more Images and many other enhancements.

*Registered members also get access to the live chat box!
Reply
 
Bookmark and Share LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 Old 10-09-2017, 02:02 AM   #1
 
Tomas Novak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 9   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
Tomas Novak will become famous soon enough
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default Fan does not blow at all

After solving one issue, another is on again!

Fan is not blowing any air at all.
I have checked 7.5A and 40A fuse, under hood, named FAn1 and A/C
A/C compressor does not start, but maybe that is due to fan not blowing? Sometimes it seems that the compressor even start (RPM goes a bit up), but then does not for the second time, maybe because it was 52F outside. But temp can be even 0F, comp should start?
Anyway, it is an overnight issue, I'm sure last driving day it was OK, not it is not, no idea why.
Possible:
- low fluids or something with A/C system ?
- simply some blower died ?

I can set the temp, or intensity, on screen everything seems usual, I can even hear the click when changing air direction, or in/out circulation. But can' hear the fan itself, nor feel the air.

Any thoughts please ?

Thanks

2011-2012 MS3 , 140k miles
Tomas Novak is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 10-09-2017, 06:03 AM   #2
 
GroceryGtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Rochester Hills, MI
Posts: 301   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 81
GroceryGtr is the leader of the worldGroceryGtr is the leader of the worldGroceryGtr is the leader of the worldGroceryGtr is the leader of the worldGroceryGtr is the leader of the worldGroceryGtr is the leader of the worldGroceryGtr is the leader of the worldGroceryGtr is the leader of the worldGroceryGtr is the leader of the worldGroceryGtr is the leader of the worldGroceryGtr is the leader of the world
Thanks: 0
Thanked 109 Times in 78 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 1 Time in 1 Post
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Do you mean the engine fan or the blower fan(blows the a/c in the cabin).
__________________
"Sarcasm and shit talking are two different things. MSF offers the best advice, just delivered by sarcastic pricks, with your best interest in mind." -ThePedigree13

Silver 06 MS6 - DD stealth build - no show, all go....
'12 Abarth Challenge Car - very loud, very fast, very inconvenient to drive on the street...
GroceryGtr is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 10-09-2017, 06:11 AM   #3
 
Spectrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Attacking some twisties
Posts: 280   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
Spectrix is the leader of the worldSpectrix is the leader of the worldSpectrix is the leader of the worldSpectrix is the leader of the worldSpectrix is the leader of the worldSpectrix is the leader of the worldSpectrix is the leader of the worldSpectrix is the leader of the worldSpectrix is the leader of the worldSpectrix is the leader of the worldSpectrix is the leader of the world
Thanks: 238
Thanked 466 Times in 149 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 7 Times in 3 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

This is sometimes due to the blower resistor / fan speed resistor. It varies the current to the fan. I've not changed it on the MS3, but on other cars it was as simple as unscrewing it and swapping the part with another from a wreck.
__________________
-
2008 Gen1 MS3

Cobb AP ~ Autotech HPFP Internals ~ HTP 3" Intake ~ Custom Testpipe ~ Cobb RSB ~ Sticky Tires.
E85 & Self tuned
Spectrix is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 10-09-2017, 11:31 AM   #4
 
Tomas Novak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 9   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
Tomas Novak will become famous soon enough
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Blower fan...
Hm, I heard on MS3 its like giving a birth, to replace it.. because its somewhat between glowebox and gas pedal..
Most likely its the blower motor.. but cant be sure, hm.
Tomas Novak is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 10-09-2017, 01:36 PM   #5
 
SaveMelMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 385   (View Stats)
iTrader: (3)
Rep Power: 138
SaveMelMac is the leader of the worldSaveMelMac is the leader of the worldSaveMelMac is the leader of the worldSaveMelMac is the leader of the worldSaveMelMac is the leader of the worldSaveMelMac is the leader of the worldSaveMelMac is the leader of the worldSaveMelMac is the leader of the worldSaveMelMac is the leader of the worldSaveMelMac is the leader of the worldSaveMelMac is the leader of the world
Thanks: 29
Thanked 150 Times in 94 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 3 Times in 3 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Usually if the resistor is bad the fan will only blow highest speed setting, I would test the blower motor with 12v directly the it, then work back from there.
SaveMelMac is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SaveMelMac For This Useful Post:
Tomas Novak (10-09-2017)
 Old 10-12-2017, 03:52 AM   #6
 
Tomas Novak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 9   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
Tomas Novak will become famous soon enough
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Hm, and that blower motor is the BL same as BK model, or are they different? I can get BK model from local eshop, but they dont have the BL.

Solved - dealer who did freewheel replacement (rattling sound), did not plug something back tightly enough. Funny. Shit happens..

Last edited by Tomas Novak; 10-12-2017 at 04:12 AM.
Tomas Novak is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 10-12-2017, 12:34 PM   #7
 
Bexar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 143   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
Bexar is a name known to allBexar is a name known to allBexar is a name known to allBexar is a name known to allBexar is a name known to allBexar is a name known to all
Thanks: 36
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Groans: 1
Groaned at 9 Times in 5 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Originally Posted by Tomas Novak View Post
Hm, and that blower motor is the BL same as BK model, or are they different? I can get BK model from local eshop, but they dont have the BL.

Solved - dealer who did freewheel replacement (rattling sound), did not plug something back tightly enough. Funny. Shit happens..
Kinda wrong thread but can explain what this freewheel is / pics ? And what the replacement was? Personally curious
__________________
-- Celestial Blue Pu --
APv3 // Corksport intake // Cobb TIP // Corksport HPFP // muffler delete
CP-E stage 2 RMM // Corksport SSP // JBR shifter bushings // JBR RSB + big brackets

Need to be installed: TurboXS downpipe

I ❤ hatches
Bexar is online now   Reply With Quote
 Old 10-12-2017, 09:30 PM   #8
 
Tomas Novak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 9   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
Tomas Novak will become famous soon enough
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

It was alternator pulley - that's better word for it (dont have pic, as dealer only told me, did not show what was wrong)
Was not sure how to translate, so used wikipedia for it, that's why freewheel came up...

Hm, but dealer also changed oil, and oil filter, but now im not sure, if also cabin filter - if cabin, maybe thats where he forgot to plug something in... , - he was in kinda hurry, and rush can cause such errors..
Tomas Novak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blow Through MAF Mid_Life_Crisis MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Turbo Induction 44 10-31-2012 10:14 AM
Blow Through MAF Voltwings 2010 MS3 - ECU Computer Tuning 88 10-05-2012 04:14 AM
Blow through MAF ESB Jiu JItsu MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Turbo Induction 84 09-14-2012 06:57 AM
blow through maf help mrkdspd MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Turbo Induction 10 08-13-2012 12:59 PM
How much can the K04 blow? sallyspeed3 MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Turbo Induction 26 03-30-2012 11:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:31 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
Template-Modifications by TMS
©Copyright 2008 ; 2014 Cymru Internet Services LLC | FYHN™ Autosports HQ
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Page generated in 0.27642 seconds with 24 queries