register gallery
 

Go Back   Mazdaspeed Forums >
MAZDASPEED SECTION
>
Mazdaspeed 3/6 MZR Gen1 Forums (2006-2009)
> Mazdaspeed3/6 General Discussion


Welcome to Mazdaspeed Forums .

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

*When you join MSF as a registered user, there will be No Ads.

*Registered Members get access to the Off Topic Area of the Forum

*Registered Members have an opportunity to upgrade their accounts to VIP, which brings a host of goddies for supporting MSF such as Raffles, Additional Forum Access, More PM Storage, The ability to upload more Images and many other enhancements.

*Registered members also get access to the live chat box!
Reply
 
Bookmark and Share LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 Old 06-21-2015, 07:20 PM   #1
 
Savo1997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Sunrise, FL
Posts: 45   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
Savo1997 has much to be proud ofSavo1997 has much to be proud ofSavo1997 has much to be proud ofSavo1997 has much to be proud ofSavo1997 has much to be proud ofSavo1997 has much to be proud ofSavo1997 has much to be proud ofSavo1997 has much to be proud ofSavo1997 has much to be proud of
Thanks: 2
Thanked 24 Times in 9 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default intermittent smoke

One day prior to upping my idle 200rmp, I got heavy smoke after sitting with the car running for 10-15 minutes. I upped the idle and it went away.

2 weeks ago I had my mechanic install DP (I tried and failed to myself), and since then, if I start the car and drive a short distance, shut it off, and restart it within under 30 mins, the car smokes pretty heavy for about 5 mins then goes away. However, if I start the car, drive it until fully warmed up (15+ mins), turn it off, and LET IT SIT (for an hour or more), car doesn't smoke upon starting up again. So the car is only ever smoking after a quick trip and then restart. Confusing, tried searching/reading a bunch about smoky turbo stuff and this specific issue didn't seem to come up. She's got 57,000 with mods listed in signature.
Any thoughts?
__________________
Current: 07 ms3, JBR: TIP SRI, ETS: TMIC, CORKSPORT: RMM & HPFP, Hypertech Tune, EBay DP + Test Pipe & into stock CB
Planning/Dreaming: Cobb AP, Koni Yellows
Savo1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 06-22-2015, 10:36 AM   #2
 
acousticdefbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: sugar land, texas
Posts: 319   (View Stats)
iTrader: (4)
Rep Power: 0
acousticdefbot is the leader of the worldacousticdefbot is the leader of the worldacousticdefbot is the leader of the worldacousticdefbot is the leader of the worldacousticdefbot is the leader of the worldacousticdefbot is the leader of the worldacousticdefbot is the leader of the worldacousticdefbot is the leader of the worldacousticdefbot is the leader of the worldacousticdefbot is the leader of the worldacousticdefbot is the leader of the world
Thanks: 213
Thanked 428 Times in 174 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

this is not an uncommon issue and i'm not sure the way in which you're producing is all that different from others. it's likely that your previous setup was just masking the issue, and now that you've opened it up a bit it's become unmasked. is your downpipe with or without a cat? what kind of oil do you use? you might also consider a new intake setup with the ventilation hose relocated closer to your turbo inlet.

wonder twin powers activate! shape of, a wheel!

__________________
guzzlin' a guinness stout.
acousticdefbot is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 06-22-2015, 11:39 AM   #3
 
Savo1997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Sunrise, FL
Posts: 45   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
Savo1997 has much to be proud ofSavo1997 has much to be proud ofSavo1997 has much to be proud ofSavo1997 has much to be proud ofSavo1997 has much to be proud ofSavo1997 has much to be proud ofSavo1997 has much to be proud ofSavo1997 has much to be proud ofSavo1997 has much to be proud of
Thanks: 2
Thanked 24 Times in 9 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Originally Posted by acousticdefbot View Post
this is not an uncommon issue and i'm not sure the way in which you're producing is all that different from others. it's likely that your previous setup was just masking the issue, and now that you've opened it up a bit it's become unmasked. is your downpipe with or without a cat? what kind of oil do you use? you might also consider a new intake setup with the ventilation hose relocated closer to your turbo inlet.

wonder twin powers activate! shape of, a wheel!

I have a DP + Test Pipe, using Pennnzoil full synth 5w 30... Interesting that the ventilation hose closer to the turbo would make a difference...
__________________
Current: 07 ms3, JBR: TIP SRI, ETS: TMIC, CORKSPORT: RMM & HPFP, Hypertech Tune, EBay DP + Test Pipe & into stock CB
Planning/Dreaming: Cobb AP, Koni Yellows
Savo1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 06-22-2015, 01:23 PM   #4
 
acousticdefbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: sugar land, texas
Posts: 319   (View Stats)
iTrader: (4)
Rep Power: 0
acousticdefbot is the leader of the worldacousticdefbot is the leader of the worldacousticdefbot is the leader of the worldacousticdefbot is the leader of the worldacousticdefbot is the leader of the worldacousticdefbot is the leader of the worldacousticdefbot is the leader of the worldacousticdefbot is the leader of the worldacousticdefbot is the leader of the worldacousticdefbot is the leader of the worldacousticdefbot is the leader of the world
Thanks: 213
Thanked 428 Times in 174 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default



the fix created more vacuum. mazda issued a service bulletin for this. try running rotella t6 (5w-40) and then bump your idle back to normal to see if that alleviates it. bumping up your idle is another solution but not everyone wants their idle near a thousand. the intake is another solid fix and most aftermarket companies provide relocated ventilation via the turbo inlet pipe now.
__________________
guzzlin' a guinness stout.
acousticdefbot is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 06-22-2015, 01:41 PM   #5
 
Savo1997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Sunrise, FL
Posts: 45   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
Savo1997 has much to be proud ofSavo1997 has much to be proud ofSavo1997 has much to be proud ofSavo1997 has much to be proud ofSavo1997 has much to be proud ofSavo1997 has much to be proud ofSavo1997 has much to be proud ofSavo1997 has much to be proud ofSavo1997 has much to be proud of
Thanks: 2
Thanked 24 Times in 9 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

I have a JBR intake and TIP. That would have relocated it already, correct?
__________________
Current: 07 ms3, JBR: TIP SRI, ETS: TMIC, CORKSPORT: RMM & HPFP, Hypertech Tune, EBay DP + Test Pipe & into stock CB
Planning/Dreaming: Cobb AP, Koni Yellows
Savo1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 06-22-2015, 02:07 PM   #6
 
tegxsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: San Leandro, CA
Posts: 1,240   (View Stats)
iTrader: (5)
Rep Power: 0
tegxsi is the leader of the worldtegxsi is the leader of the worldtegxsi is the leader of the worldtegxsi is the leader of the worldtegxsi is the leader of the worldtegxsi is the leader of the worldtegxsi is the leader of the worldtegxsi is the leader of the worldtegxsi is the leader of the worldtegxsi is the leader of the worldtegxsi is the leader of the world
Thanks: 458
Thanked 566 Times in 379 Posts
Groans: 87
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

For stock size intakes I believe only CS has the option of having the ventilation hose relocated to the turbo inlet.
Larger +3" aluminum intakes and CP-E TIP have it relocated closer to the turbo.
__________________
2018 Audi RS3
2013 CWP Mazdaspeed3 - CS Turbo
2007 Acura TSX 6MT
tegxsi is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 06-22-2015, 02:15 PM   #7
 
acousticdefbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: sugar land, texas
Posts: 319   (View Stats)
iTrader: (4)
Rep Power: 0
acousticdefbot is the leader of the worldacousticdefbot is the leader of the worldacousticdefbot is the leader of the worldacousticdefbot is the leader of the worldacousticdefbot is the leader of the worldacousticdefbot is the leader of the worldacousticdefbot is the leader of the worldacousticdefbot is the leader of the worldacousticdefbot is the leader of the worldacousticdefbot is the leader of the worldacousticdefbot is the leader of the world
Thanks: 213
Thanked 428 Times in 174 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

if you are running this particular intake where it is located on the elbow just behind the maf housing:



then it would not. an example of where it is relocated with the fix:

__________________
guzzlin' a guinness stout.
acousticdefbot is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to acousticdefbot For This Useful Post:
Savo1997 (06-23-2015), tegxsi (06-22-2015)
 Old 06-22-2015, 06:51 PM   #8
 
Savo1997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Sunrise, FL
Posts: 45   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
Savo1997 has much to be proud ofSavo1997 has much to be proud ofSavo1997 has much to be proud ofSavo1997 has much to be proud ofSavo1997 has much to be proud ofSavo1997 has much to be proud ofSavo1997 has much to be proud ofSavo1997 has much to be proud ofSavo1997 has much to be proud of
Thanks: 2
Thanked 24 Times in 9 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Yea. That top pic is mine... Damn. Wasn't aware of that issue when I purchased. Kinda pissed now.
__________________
Current: 07 ms3, JBR: TIP SRI, ETS: TMIC, CORKSPORT: RMM & HPFP, Hypertech Tune, EBay DP + Test Pipe & into stock CB
Planning/Dreaming: Cobb AP, Koni Yellows
Savo1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intermittent issue ty.thompson1981 Mazdaspeed3/6 General Discussion 15 06-05-2015 05:53 PM
Intermittent Horn myslow1 MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Car Audio & Electronics 1 12-29-2013 11:08 PM
Intermittent Fuel Cut - Need Help kore2000 MazdaSpeed 6 - Engine, Transmission & Driveline 0 03-18-2013 04:16 PM
Intermittent Hum/grind helmetface Mazdaspeed3/6 General Discussion 23 01-07-2013 05:05 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:08 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
Template-Modifications by TMS
©Copyright 2008 ; 2019 Cymru Internet Services LLC | FYHN™ Autosports HQ
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Page generated in 0.30501 seconds with 22 queries