register gallery
 

Go Back   Mazdaspeed Forums >
MAZDASPEED SECTION
>
Mazdaspeed 3 MZR Gen2 Forums (2010-2013)
> Gen2 MS3 General Discussion


Welcome to Mazdaspeed Forums .

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

*When you join MSF as a registered user, there will be No Ads.

*Registered Members get access to the Off Topic Area of the Forum

*Registered Members have an opportunity to upgrade their accounts to VIP, which brings a host of goddies for supporting MSF such as Raffles, Additional Forum Access, More PM Storage, The ability to upload more Images and many other enhancements.

*Registered members also get access to the live chat box!
Reply
 
Bookmark and Share LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 Old Yesterday, 09:21 AM   #1
BMC
 
BMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 183   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
BMC has a reputation beyond reputeBMC has a reputation beyond reputeBMC has a reputation beyond reputeBMC has a reputation beyond reputeBMC has a reputation beyond reputeBMC has a reputation beyond reputeBMC has a reputation beyond reputeBMC has a reputation beyond reputeBMC has a reputation beyond reputeBMC has a reputation beyond reputeBMC has a reputation beyond repute
Thanks: 205
Thanked 80 Times in 45 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 4 Times in 3 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default AEM Failsafe O2 sensor placement

Just trying to figure out how to get the above mentioned Failsafe component installed properly. I've got a 2013 Speed3 with a Catted Cobb downpipe. AEM wants the sensor 18" downstream from the turbo but on the upstream side of the CAT, at an 8-10 degree angle. Since the CAT is only 6" or so from the turbo that ain't happening. There's an extra bung for another sensor on the cast portion of the downpipe but that puts it pretty much directly on the turbo. Big heat! I could have another bung welded on just above the CAT but it would still only be a few inches from the turbo. I'm likely missing something but it looks like this AEM product has installation parameters that make it unusable for a Speed3. As replacement sensors aren't cheap, I'm wondering what others did when they came across this.
__________________
Built
BMC is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old Yesterday, 06:06 PM   #2
 
BuddySpeed3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 479   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
BuddySpeed3 has a reputation beyond reputeBuddySpeed3 has a reputation beyond reputeBuddySpeed3 has a reputation beyond reputeBuddySpeed3 has a reputation beyond reputeBuddySpeed3 has a reputation beyond reputeBuddySpeed3 has a reputation beyond reputeBuddySpeed3 has a reputation beyond reputeBuddySpeed3 has a reputation beyond reputeBuddySpeed3 has a reputation beyond reputeBuddySpeed3 has a reputation beyond reputeBuddySpeed3 has a reputation beyond repute
Thanks: 165
Thanked 80 Times in 47 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 7 Times in 4 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Originally Posted by BMC View Post
Just trying to figure out how to get the above mentioned Failsafe component installed properly. I've got a 2013 Speed3 with a Catted Cobb downpipe. AEM wants the sensor 18" downstream from the turbo but on the upstream side of the CAT, at an 8-10 degree angle. Since the CAT is only 6" or so from the turbo that ain't happening. There's an extra bung for another sensor on the cast portion of the downpipe but that puts it pretty much directly on the turbo. Big heat! I could have another bung welded on just above the CAT but it would still only be a few inches from the turbo. I'm likely missing something but it looks like this AEM product has installation parameters that make it unusable for a Speed3. As replacement sensors aren't cheap, I'm wondering what others did when they came across this.
I've had no issues whatsoever with the sensor installed on the second bung right next to the primary wideband O2 sensor on my CPE downpipe. One thing I do notice is that the AEM AFR Failsafe reads about 0.2 points richer than the OEM wideband through the Accessport, so definitely take that into consideration when setting up what AFR the alarm triggers at. Here's our install video:
https://youtu.be/jgSVFTp0GRQ
__________________
- 2009 Speed 3 - Clocked BNR S4 v2 - Corksport 3.5" Intake - Cobb 3 Port Bcs - Cobb AP V2 - Guardian Angel V3 - Tr8 Fmic w/ Jbr Under Route Piping - Jbr Raiders Air Damn w/ Custom Radiator Side Ducting - Cpe Catless Dp - Cnt Catback - Cobb Xle Bpv - Corksport IM - Full Race EM - Cobb Shift Knob - Autotech Internals - Corksport HP Fuel Line - Gen 2 VC w/ Sp63 Oil Breather Cap - DM PCV Plate w/ Dual Vented Catch Cans - Jbr 88a Rmm - 88a Tmm - 80a Pmm - Corksport Injector Seals - Ngk 1 Step colder Plugs - Koni Yellow Shocks - Eibach Springs - 94 Octane w/ 3 Gallons of In Tank Methanol - Sp63 6th Port Kit (tune in progress)
BuddySpeed3 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old Yesterday, 06:14 PM   #3
BMC
 
BMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 183   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
BMC has a reputation beyond reputeBMC has a reputation beyond reputeBMC has a reputation beyond reputeBMC has a reputation beyond reputeBMC has a reputation beyond reputeBMC has a reputation beyond reputeBMC has a reputation beyond reputeBMC has a reputation beyond reputeBMC has a reputation beyond reputeBMC has a reputation beyond reputeBMC has a reputation beyond repute
Thanks: 205
Thanked 80 Times in 45 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 4 Times in 3 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Thanks for the response. Just had a chance to look at the video. Basically the same O2 sensor configuration on the downpipe as mine. Glad to hear you've had no issues. It was suggested that I'd be burning through sensors quite quickly, that close to the turbo. How long've you been running it like that?
__________________
Built

Last edited by BMC; Yesterday at 07:02 PM.
BMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AEM failsafe configuration Justin@Freektune FREEKTUNE 27 04-07-2015 05:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:22 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
Template-Modifications by TMS
©Copyright 2008 ; 2019 Cymru Internet Services LLC | FYHN™ Autosports HQ
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Page generated in 0.22714 seconds with 21 queries