register gallery
 

Go Back   Mazdaspeed Forums >
MAZDASPEED SECTION
>
Mazdaspeed 3 MZR Gen2 Forums (2010-2013)
> Gen2 MS3 General Discussion


Welcome to Mazdaspeed Forums .

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

*When you join MSF as a registered user, there will be No Ads.

*Registered Members get access to the Off Topic Area of the Forum

*Registered Members have an opportunity to upgrade their accounts to VIP, which brings a host of goddies for supporting MSF such as Raffles, Additional Forum Access, More PM Storage, The ability to upload more Images and many other enhancements.

*Registered members also get access to the live chat box!
Reply
 
Bookmark and Share LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 Old 02-14-2012, 07:36 PM   #1
 
DFWSpeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 81   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
DFWSpeed has a reputation beyond reputeDFWSpeed has a reputation beyond reputeDFWSpeed has a reputation beyond reputeDFWSpeed has a reputation beyond reputeDFWSpeed has a reputation beyond reputeDFWSpeed has a reputation beyond reputeDFWSpeed has a reputation beyond reputeDFWSpeed has a reputation beyond reputeDFWSpeed has a reputation beyond reputeDFWSpeed has a reputation beyond reputeDFWSpeed has a reputation beyond repute
Thanks: 12
Thanked 81 Times in 20 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default Emissions?

So my girlfriend's brother is going to do my inspection, but he says that the state makes him submit a ticket of the results from the OBD-II test or something like that.

My question is, If I'm running a catless downpipe and have the code cleared with accessport, will it pass?
__________________
2010 Mazdaspeed 3
E30 | Cp-e TMIC | Cp-e HPFP | CS SRI/TIP | JBR RMM | Ebay DP | UR Catless TP | UR Cat-back | Turbosmart Dual Port | Privat Akzent 18x8 +46 | JBR SSP & Shift knob |
FREEKTUNE in progress

1993 Suzuki VS800 Intruder Bobber
DFWSpeed is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 02-14-2012, 07:56 PM   #2
 
Dmurray06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Red Deer,AB Canada
Posts: 3,279   (View Stats)
iTrader: (6)
Rep Power: 0
Dmurray06 is the leader of the worldDmurray06 is the leader of the worldDmurray06 is the leader of the worldDmurray06 is the leader of the worldDmurray06 is the leader of the worldDmurray06 is the leader of the worldDmurray06 is the leader of the worldDmurray06 is the leader of the worldDmurray06 is the leader of the worldDmurray06 is the leader of the worldDmurray06 is the leader of the world
Thanks: 4,855
Thanked 4,338 Times in 1,621 Posts
Groans: 189
Groaned at 64 Times in 21 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Short answer.....if its just an obd test...you will pass with no CELs...a visual or sniff test...you will fail
__________________
2010 Mazdaspeed 3 Black Mica w/ Tech Package - Traded In
2014 Ford F150 FX4 Ecoboost - Current

Dmurray06 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 02-14-2012, 07:59 PM   #3
 
doctavus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,728   (View Stats)
iTrader: (2)
Rep Power: 0
doctavus is the leader of the worlddoctavus is the leader of the worlddoctavus is the leader of the worlddoctavus is the leader of the worlddoctavus is the leader of the worlddoctavus is the leader of the worlddoctavus is the leader of the worlddoctavus is the leader of the worlddoctavus is the leader of the worlddoctavus is the leader of the worlddoctavus is the leader of the world
Thanks: 620
Thanked 531 Times in 387 Posts
Groans: 9
Groaned at 29 Times in 23 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

My last toy was a 96 Cobra, had the offroad H on it, well I put a stocker on it and cleared the code, drove it to get inspection. They could tell the code was cleared and he said to drive it around for a set amount of time and come back.
doctavus is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 02-14-2012, 08:01 PM   #4
 
ziggidy08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Burleson Texas
Posts: 389   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
ziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the world
Thanks: 297
Thanked 282 Times in 118 Posts
Groans: 1
Groaned at 19 Times in 5 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

From what i've gathered if the code is turned off the only thing the state computer is going to see is the ready monitors. You can pass with 1 saying not ready so if thats the only one you should be ok. Most handheld scanners can check the monitors like at an autozone for free if you wanted to get them to check. I'm a state inspector and i'm looking for a way to use a catless DP without having issues with it on the inspections too. Let me know if you can figure anything out.
__________________
Mods:
* FREEKTUNE 9gal 93 / 3gal E85 * Cobb AP * JBR 3.5" WP * FMIC * Autotech HPFP * JBR Dogbone RMM * JBR RSB * Speed Daddy Catless DP * ** Speed Daddy CBE * H&R Sport Springs * Corksport Short Shift Plate *
ziggidy08 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 02-14-2012, 08:04 PM   #5
 
Metal409's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: North Aurora, IL
Posts: 316   (View Stats)
iTrader: (5)
Rep Power: 0
Metal409 is the leader of the worldMetal409 is the leader of the worldMetal409 is the leader of the worldMetal409 is the leader of the worldMetal409 is the leader of the worldMetal409 is the leader of the worldMetal409 is the leader of the worldMetal409 is the leader of the worldMetal409 is the leader of the worldMetal409 is the leader of the worldMetal409 is the leader of the world
Thanks: 91
Thanked 190 Times in 112 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 1 Time in 1 Post
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Yeah, after the ECU has been reset, it needs to be driven around for a certain distance/times for the readiness codes to set. They can see that the codes arent ready and will make you come back. This is all my understanding anyway. From what I understand even with the AP and not turning on the dtc (or whatever) for the cat, they can see that during the reading. But my understanding is most (some?) states allow for 1 or 2 not to be set. This is what i've been told. I know on the subaru's people were able to hack into the ECU and force the readiness codes on for inspections. But apparently it has a chance of bricking it.

(posted after above, what he said. lol)
__________________
2016 Ford Focus ST
2013 Ford Fusion Titanium AWD - Sold
2009 Mazdaspeed 3 GT - Sold
Metal409 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Metal409 For This Useful Post:
ASHMS3 (06-05-2012)
 Old 02-14-2012, 08:04 PM   #6
 
SSinstaller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 3,933   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 2450
SSinstaller is the leader of the worldSSinstaller is the leader of the worldSSinstaller is the leader of the worldSSinstaller is the leader of the worldSSinstaller is the leader of the worldSSinstaller is the leader of the worldSSinstaller is the leader of the worldSSinstaller is the leader of the worldSSinstaller is the leader of the worldSSinstaller is the leader of the worldSSinstaller is the leader of the world
Thanks: 808
Thanked 4,557 Times in 1,683 Posts
Groans: 55
Groaned at 17 Times in 12 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Most states look at the OBD2 readiness tests, if you've only cleared that one MIL you should only have one not-ready test.

That will pass in most states.

But you can't remove any more MILs with the AP, or you will have two not-ready tests, and that's an automatic fail..
__________________
Fully Built : Arias Pistons: Pauter Rods : ARP bolts: Ported Head: Cosworth BSD : Spec 3+ Clutch : Fidanza Flywheel : AWR Engine mounts 90duro : Custom TIP/Intake : Custom Blow Through 3.5" MAF : Custom FMIC : HKS SSQV VTA : Ported IM : Custom DP : Custom Exhaust : CPBoost Top Mount EM : Garrett GT3582R : PTP Turbo Blanket: Tial V44 EWG : Perrin EBCS : MrLilGuy/PTP HPFP : Ported fuel line : Ported Fuel Rail : Custom Ported Fuel Injectors : Kenny Bell Boost-a-Pump : HKS Twin Power DLI II : HKS M-Series Plugs : Cobb AP : AEM 3.5bar MAP :Koni Sport shocks : RPM Kspec Springs : TWM STS : TT Front Diff Mount : CPE Upper Diff Mount : Whiteline RSB : AWR Endlinks

Soon to be installed:
ST manifold w/ port injection : Raduim Engineering PCV Plate : Radium Engineering PCV valve : Radium Engineering Fuel filter : Aeromotive FPR : DCR VVT : TI Automotive F90000274 Fuel Pump : NX 15718 : Split Second AIC

SSinstaller is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 02-14-2012, 08:10 PM   #7
 
4G63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: STL, MO
Posts: 1,479   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
4G63 is the leader of the world4G63 is the leader of the world4G63 is the leader of the world4G63 is the leader of the world4G63 is the leader of the world4G63 is the leader of the world4G63 is the leader of the world4G63 is the leader of the world4G63 is the leader of the world4G63 is the leader of the world4G63 is the leader of the world
Thanks: 2,038
Thanked 2,043 Times in 786 Posts
Groans: 123
Groaned at 157 Times in 79 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Lol emissions
__________________
2003 Evo VIII

BUILD PLANS: LR 2.0/2.4, 6466, 800+whp. Shooting for 9s at full weight. Time is on my side, gonna take forever.

Old: 2009 White MS3. Fully bolted and tuned. Sold
4G63 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 4G63 For This Useful Post:
DFWSpeed (02-15-2012)
 Old 02-14-2012, 08:10 PM   #8
 
ziggidy08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Burleson Texas
Posts: 389   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
ziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the world
Thanks: 297
Thanked 282 Times in 118 Posts
Groans: 1
Groaned at 19 Times in 5 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Originally Posted by SSinstaller View Post
But you can't remove any more MILs with the AP, or you will have two not-ready tests, and that's an automatic fail..
Sucks but its true.
__________________
Mods:
* FREEKTUNE 9gal 93 / 3gal E85 * Cobb AP * JBR 3.5" WP * FMIC * Autotech HPFP * JBR Dogbone RMM * JBR RSB * Speed Daddy Catless DP * ** Speed Daddy CBE * H&R Sport Springs * Corksport Short Shift Plate *
ziggidy08 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 02-15-2012, 03:15 AM   #9
 
infeKteDx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 385   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
infeKteDx is the leader of the worldinfeKteDx is the leader of the worldinfeKteDx is the leader of the worldinfeKteDx is the leader of the worldinfeKteDx is the leader of the worldinfeKteDx is the leader of the worldinfeKteDx is the leader of the worldinfeKteDx is the leader of the worldinfeKteDx is the leader of the worldinfeKteDx is the leader of the worldinfeKteDx is the leader of the world
Thanks: 3
Thanked 154 Times in 88 Posts
Groans: 1
Groaned at 46 Times in 20 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

I'm worried about this too here in PA. I'm putting my DP on in a week...although I have the o2 extension that is suppose to help, I hope...
infeKteDx is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 02-15-2012, 04:15 AM   #10
patrick failman
 
karl-hungus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4,635   (View Stats)
iTrader: (11)
Rep Power: 2894
karl-hungus is the leader of the worldkarl-hungus is the leader of the worldkarl-hungus is the leader of the worldkarl-hungus is the leader of the worldkarl-hungus is the leader of the worldkarl-hungus is the leader of the worldkarl-hungus is the leader of the worldkarl-hungus is the leader of the worldkarl-hungus is the leader of the worldkarl-hungus is the leader of the worldkarl-hungus is the leader of the world
Thanks: 4,275
Thanked 5,434 Times in 2,185 Posts
Groans: 74
Groaned at 55 Times in 47 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

you need one of these...

__________________
2012 ingot silver mustang gt w/ 6 speed, 3.73 rear end, bama 93 tune, cat deletes, boss 302 oil cooler, roush cai, dynotech aluminum driveshaft, ford racing strut tower brace, dampers & springs, boss 302 sway bars, gt500 strut mounts, lower control arms & axle backs, j&m adjustable panhard bar, steeda upper control arm & 3 point braces, jlt catch can, barton short shifter & shift bracket
karl-hungus is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to karl-hungus For This Useful Post:
CWP_MS3 (06-06-2012), DFWSpeed (02-15-2012), helmetface (02-15-2012)
 Old 02-15-2012, 05:40 AM   #11
 
DFWSpeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 81   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
DFWSpeed has a reputation beyond reputeDFWSpeed has a reputation beyond reputeDFWSpeed has a reputation beyond reputeDFWSpeed has a reputation beyond reputeDFWSpeed has a reputation beyond reputeDFWSpeed has a reputation beyond reputeDFWSpeed has a reputation beyond reputeDFWSpeed has a reputation beyond reputeDFWSpeed has a reputation beyond reputeDFWSpeed has a reputation beyond reputeDFWSpeed has a reputation beyond repute
Thanks: 12
Thanked 81 Times in 20 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

So I'm trying to understand the ready codes. I've had accessport for like a month and a half, and I cleared the code the first day I got it. I've driven around a shit ton.
__________________
2010 Mazdaspeed 3
E30 | Cp-e TMIC | Cp-e HPFP | CS SRI/TIP | JBR RMM | Ebay DP | UR Catless TP | UR Cat-back | Turbosmart Dual Port | Privat Akzent 18x8 +46 | JBR SSP & Shift knob |
FREEKTUNE in progress

1993 Suzuki VS800 Intruder Bobber
DFWSpeed is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 02-15-2012, 06:00 AM   #12
 
ziggidy08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Burleson Texas
Posts: 389   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
ziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the world
Thanks: 297
Thanked 282 Times in 118 Posts
Groans: 1
Groaned at 19 Times in 5 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Originally Posted by JacksonMorgan View Post
So I'm trying to understand the ready codes. I've had accessport for like a month and a half, and I cleared the code the first day I got it. I've driven around a shit ton.
Go to an autozone or even the inspection station that you will be going to and have them check if your monitors are set to ready. The station can do it.
__________________
Mods:
* FREEKTUNE 9gal 93 / 3gal E85 * Cobb AP * JBR 3.5" WP * FMIC * Autotech HPFP * JBR Dogbone RMM * JBR RSB * Speed Daddy Catless DP * ** Speed Daddy CBE * H&R Sport Springs * Corksport Short Shift Plate *
ziggidy08 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ziggidy08 For This Useful Post:
Manny3 (02-29-2012)
 Old 06-05-2012, 01:51 PM   #13
 
rolanblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: irving,tx
Posts: 2,110   (View Stats)
iTrader: (5)
Rep Power: 0
rolanblack is the leader of the worldrolanblack is the leader of the worldrolanblack is the leader of the worldrolanblack is the leader of the worldrolanblack is the leader of the worldrolanblack is the leader of the worldrolanblack is the leader of the worldrolanblack is the leader of the worldrolanblack is the leader of the worldrolanblack is the leader of the worldrolanblack is the leader of the world
Thanks: 161
Thanked 881 Times in 626 Posts
Groans: 25
Groaned at 16 Times in 15 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Would I have to put it back to stock mode or leave it in its current stage in order to pass emissions?
rolanblack is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 06-05-2012, 02:03 PM   #14
 
greenespeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Chattanooga, Tn
Posts: 1,320   (View Stats)
iTrader: (1)
Rep Power: 0
greenespeed is the leader of the worldgreenespeed is the leader of the worldgreenespeed is the leader of the worldgreenespeed is the leader of the worldgreenespeed is the leader of the worldgreenespeed is the leader of the worldgreenespeed is the leader of the worldgreenespeed is the leader of the worldgreenespeed is the leader of the worldgreenespeed is the leader of the worldgreenespeed is the leader of the world
Thanks: 1,192
Thanked 748 Times in 443 Posts
Groans: 14
Groaned at 6 Times in 3 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

If Cobb wanted to they could fix this issue for us all and have the accessport set the mils to a ready state. If they wanted to. If enough of us tell them we want it done.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
2006 Mazdaspeed6 BCM GT


MODS : Cobb AP // Cobb SF // Sure TIP // JBR RMM // JBR SSB // JBR SSP // Magnaflow CBE // MSR 045 18 X 8 +35 // ACT ZX5-HDG6 // M2 3" catless DP // AT HPFP Internals // NGK's -- FREEKTUNE in progress



Having a 12 second Honda is just like coming out of the closet; You're going to surprise a bunch of people, but in the end you're still gay.
greenespeed is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 06-07-2012, 05:20 AM   #15
 
ziggidy08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Burleson Texas
Posts: 389   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
ziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the worldziggidy08 is the leader of the world
Thanks: 297
Thanked 282 Times in 118 Posts
Groans: 1
Groaned at 19 Times in 5 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Originally Posted by rolanblack View Post
Would I have to put it back to stock mode or leave it in its current stage in order to pass emissions?
It could stay in the current mode, it just depends if the cel is on and if your ready monitors aren't set to incomplete.
__________________
Mods:
* FREEKTUNE 9gal 93 / 3gal E85 * Cobb AP * JBR 3.5" WP * FMIC * Autotech HPFP * JBR Dogbone RMM * JBR RSB * Speed Daddy Catless DP * ** Speed Daddy CBE * H&R Sport Springs * Corksport Short Shift Plate *
ziggidy08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Emissions sguzov MazdaSpeed 3/6 - ECU Computer Tuning 24 07-12-2010 06:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:18 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
Template-Modifications by TMS
©Copyright 2008 ; 2018 Cymru Internet Services LLC | FYHN™ Autosports HQ
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Page generated in 0.47939 seconds with 30 queries