register gallery
 

Go Back   Mazdaspeed Forums >
MAZDASPEED SECTION
>
Mazdaspeed 3/6 MZR Gen1 Forums (2006-2009)
> MazdaSpeed 3/6 - ECU Computer Tuning

MazdaSpeed 3/6 - ECU Computer Tuning Have an ECU tuning issue? Do you want to discuss Mazdaspeed 3/6 tuning solutions? Up to date info on the latest! Piasini Reflash, Cobb Access Port, Xede, Procede, Standback, Superchips & others supported here!


Welcome to Mazdaspeed Forums .

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

*When you join MSF as a registered user, there will be No Ads.

*Registered Members get access to the Off Topic Area of the Forum

*Registered Members have an opportunity to upgrade their accounts to VIP, which brings a host of goddies for supporting MSF such as Raffles, Additional Forum Access, More PM Storage, The ability to upload more Images and many other enhancements.

*Registered members also get access to the live chat box!
Reply
 
Bookmark and Share LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 Old 06-17-2017, 06:29 AM   #1
 
danj76515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 11   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
danj76515 is an unknown quantity at this point
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default Weird problems with calc load on v250 files

Ok guys so I'm new here not to tuning on this platform so I'm kinda embarrassed I even have to ask this. Anyway I recently updated my accessport firmware, the latest file version is v250. I was running v234. Once finished with the updates I basically copied and pasted the map values from my v234 to the v250 file in ATR. Load it up and run it, all of a sudden I'm stupid rich like 9.0-1 and my calc load is way off. Remember I said I copied all the maps from v234 which runs great, to v250 including the maf cal and confirming no changes made to the ve table or VE comp. Needless to say I'm confused as to what's going on and why hoping you can help


Mods
Fmic catless dp htp 3in intake/tip

Last edited by danj76515; 06-17-2017 at 06:51 AM.
danj76515 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 06-17-2017, 03:14 PM   #2
 
danj76515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 11   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
danj76515 is an unknown quantity at this point
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Wow guys don't all jump at once. So an update to my issue, it seems that even though I'm running a 3in pipe up to the turbo inlet, if I run a stock maf curve then calibrate it, my load comes in and my afr is spot on. I'm confused as to why anyone else notice this
danj76515 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 06-18-2017, 10:31 AM   #3
 
BN00249's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Guelph, Canada
Posts: 40   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 10
BN00249 is a name known to allBN00249 is a name known to allBN00249 is a name known to allBN00249 is a name known to allBN00249 is a name known to allBN00249 is a name known to all
Thanks: 1
Thanked 12 Times in 8 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Attach a log?
Cobb maps are all boost based maps. They set the load limits out of reach in order to enable the boost based corrections to take place.

I'm not sure why this would happen.

A log would help though.
__________________
'06 MS6 GT VRM
BN00249 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 06-18-2017, 11:21 AM   #4
 
speed23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 1,351   (View Stats)
iTrader: (1)
Rep Power: 344
speed23 is the leader of the worldspeed23 is the leader of the worldspeed23 is the leader of the worldspeed23 is the leader of the worldspeed23 is the leader of the worldspeed23 is the leader of the worldspeed23 is the leader of the worldspeed23 is the leader of the worldspeed23 is the leader of the worldspeed23 is the leader of the worldspeed23 is the leader of the world
Thanks: 1,609
Thanked 452 Times in 332 Posts
Groans: 3
Groaned at 3 Times in 2 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Originally Posted by danj76515 View Post
Wow guys don't all jump at once. So an update to my issue, it seems that even though I'm running a 3in pipe up to the turbo inlet, if I run a stock maf curve then calibrate it, my load comes in and my afr is spot on. I'm confused as to why anyone else notice this
If you have a larger diameter intake at the maf compared to stock, you should be running leaner. Since you are running spot on, thats means you must have a boost leak which is then allowing some of that extra air that would be creating a lean condition out, and you are close to good with your air fuel ratio.

EDIT: Cancel the above, I missed the part where you calibrated the MAF to correct your issue.
speed23 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 06-18-2017, 04:46 PM   #5
 
danj76515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 11   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
danj76515 is an unknown quantity at this point
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

I will attach a few logs highlighting my issue as well as my fix. Btw I dont run upgrade hpfp Internals yet but always monitor fuel pressure, af and knock. Shouldn't be any issues regardless yet there is a clear error in load calc
danj76515 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 06-19-2017, 02:25 AM   #6
 
5doorsoffury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: bethpage ny
Posts: 748   (View Stats)
iTrader: (1)
Rep Power: 285
5doorsoffury is the leader of the world5doorsoffury is the leader of the world5doorsoffury is the leader of the world5doorsoffury is the leader of the world5doorsoffury is the leader of the world5doorsoffury is the leader of the world5doorsoffury is the leader of the world5doorsoffury is the leader of the world5doorsoffury is the leader of the world5doorsoffury is the leader of the world5doorsoffury is the leader of the world
Thanks: 1,245
Thanked 426 Times in 229 Posts
Groans: 65
Groaned at 4 Times in 3 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Load is based off of maf flow. If the maf cal is off so will be load. If you tell the car you have way more air then there really is your load will be high and you will run pig rich.

You fucked up copying and pasteing something. No one else has this issue and you fixed it by calibrateing the maf.

What size is the MAF not the pipes.
__________________
MECP
2012 BM
PTE 5858 Vband .82ar // Tial EWG // CPE Mani // 3" Turboback // JBR Under route hot pipe // MD ST mani+spacer with PI // Siemens 60lb Injectors // Splitsecond inj controller // JBR 88 duro RMM/TMM // TWM Full replacement shifter // JBR CC // Autotech FP Internals // SP63 SB/Manley rods SP63 pro pistons // Treadstone FMIC core // FoMoCo Tranny Jizz // South Bend Clutch Stage 3 enduro// Forge v2 // FJ 4" intake // WMI 100% VPM1//Air Lift 1000 in rear
Rfinkle tune in progress

The Brooklyn beater: 2005 1.8 Auto Sentra

5doorsoffury is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 06-20-2017, 04:36 PM   #7
 
danj76515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 11   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
danj76515 is an unknown quantity at this point
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Originally Posted by 5doorsoffury View Post
Load is based off of maf flow. If the maf cal is off so will be load. If you tell the car you have way more air then there really is your load will be high and you will run pig rich.

You fucked up copying and pasteing something. No one else has this issue and you fixed it by calibrateing the maf.

What size is the MAF not the pipes.

so it turns out it was an intake leak that had been compensated for months ago, however recently taking some time to go through the car mechanically I was able to fix a number of issues including a leaking maf seal. The car was calibrated with a bad maf seal and I never really thought anything of the part throttle afr. well long story short the maf was way off which is strange b.c even running a completely fucked up maf curve I still managed to get a solid and steady wot afr. This and ignorance was the problem. next time ill pay a little more attention thanks for all of your input guys tho seriously appreciate it.

by the way the reason I would say im a bit confused is the factory maf housing is what 2.5 inch. I have an htp 3in maf housing. now correct me if im wrong the change in diameter changes the way air flows across the heating element, changing air flow vs voltage. this requires the entire curve to be multiplied by a scalar(no math today guys you get the idea) yet the factory maf curve is much higher capping at 366g/s @ 5v. according to the curve I have here, my 3in pipe is capping at 325g/s @ 5 v so with that said anyone...anyone

keep in mind im not debating the data its right I know it is but I was expecting to be a bit lower in the voltage range considering the stock turbo is still the number one limiting factor
danj76515 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 06-20-2017, 05:42 PM   #8
 
5doorsoffury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: bethpage ny
Posts: 748   (View Stats)
iTrader: (1)
Rep Power: 285
5doorsoffury is the leader of the world5doorsoffury is the leader of the world5doorsoffury is the leader of the world5doorsoffury is the leader of the world5doorsoffury is the leader of the world5doorsoffury is the leader of the world5doorsoffury is the leader of the world5doorsoffury is the leader of the world5doorsoffury is the leader of the world5doorsoffury is the leader of the world5doorsoffury is the leader of the world
Thanks: 1,245
Thanked 426 Times in 229 Posts
Groans: 65
Groaned at 4 Times in 3 Posts
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

Originally Posted by danj76515 View Post
so it turns out it was an intake leak that had been compensated for months ago, however recently taking some time to go through the car mechanically I was able to fix a number of issues including a leaking maf seal. The car was calibrated with a bad maf seal and I never really thought anything of the part throttle afr. well long story short the maf was way off which is strange b.c even running a completely fucked up maf curve I still managed to get a solid and steady wot afr. This and ignorance was the problem. next time ill pay a little more attention thanks for all of your input guys tho seriously appreciate it.

by the way the reason I would say im a bit confused is the factory maf housing is what 2.5 inch. I have an htp 3in maf housing. now correct me if im wrong the change in diameter changes the way air flows across the heating element, changing air flow vs voltage. this requires the entire curve to be multiplied by a scalar(no math today guys you get the idea) yet the factory maf curve is much higher capping at 366g/s @ 5v. according to the curve I have here, my 3in pipe is capping at 325g/s @ 5 v so with that said anyone...anyone

keep in mind im not debating the data its right I know it is but I was expecting to be a bit lower in the voltage range considering the stock turbo is still the number one limiting factor
You should be 424g/s @5v. I would do a boost leak test and then load up a fresh maf cal to start with MAF calibrations for bigger intakes
__________________
MECP
2012 BM
PTE 5858 Vband .82ar // Tial EWG // CPE Mani // 3" Turboback // JBR Under route hot pipe // MD ST mani+spacer with PI // Siemens 60lb Injectors // Splitsecond inj controller // JBR 88 duro RMM/TMM // TWM Full replacement shifter // JBR CC // Autotech FP Internals // SP63 SB/Manley rods SP63 pro pistons // Treadstone FMIC core // FoMoCo Tranny Jizz // South Bend Clutch Stage 3 enduro// Forge v2 // FJ 4" intake // WMI 100% VPM1//Air Lift 1000 in rear
Rfinkle tune in progress

The Brooklyn beater: 2005 1.8 Auto Sentra

5doorsoffury is offline   Reply With Quote
 Old 06-20-2017, 06:30 PM   #9
 
danj76515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 11   (View Stats)
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
danj76515 is an unknown quantity at this point
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Not Ranked  0 score     
Default

yes this is what is throwing me off, I'm going to check for the hell of it but I have not problem with boost holding. I've gone through the majority of connections but haven't come up with anything. the maf sensor has been replaced it was a reman sensor (didn't know they did that) but maybe that's my problem but I don't see how that would make a difference the housing dictates what the maf scalar will be. either way these are the facts and its supported by the data.

there are 2 logs attached the one titled "datalog1" is the current file being run on the car.
The log titled "bad maf" was the last file that had a scalar of 1.313 if my math was correct and then corrected accordingly. However one that maf curve with that scalar applied, part throttle runs rich as fuck(9.0) and is easily repeatable. With closer inspection of the log you can see the load calculation is wrong reporting 1.82 @ something like 12psi but as boost build up to 17 and change the load is pinned at 1.81 which was a red flag I guess and so I started playing with it, what I ended up finding was that the stock maf cal adjusted according the procedure for caling my afr came in and pt was perfect expect for the occasional tip in enrichment but if you see datalog1 youll notice that while still a bit rich b/c I haven't finished the cal process, the afr is steadily rich yet the opposite should be true I should be lean as fuck yet the data doesn't lie. below is my current MAF V vs AIRFLOW with correction applied I suspect will run perfect. In "bad maf" check out lines 34 35 and 36 when im in pt with an afr of 9-1 im right around those maf voltages and I have not been able to calibrate it. I literally was so beaten, I said fuck it let me load up an unmodified file and low and behold it as mint pt afr and a little rich at wot but not to bad. also I noticed my stft were pinned at -25 running the bad maf file. Loaded the ots file and stft came in in a reasonable amount of time and within a few minutes of idle and driving my ltft were 15% with a stft averaging -+3%. either way just interesting that the maf housing size has increased yet im running a stock curve.



0.00000000 0.00000000 0.00000000 0.00000000 0.00000000 0.00000000 0.00000000 0.00000000 0.00000000 0.00480000 0.01780000 0.03950000 0.07040000 0.11080000 0.16120000 0.22210000 0.29380000 0.37680000 0.47150001 0.57849997 0.69809997 0.83090001 0.97740000 1.13789999 1.31299996 1.50329995 1.70869994 2.22729921 2.50804949 2.81696701 3.15589857 3.52853918 3.93973637 4.39480066 4.75237179 5.23242760 5.77515745 6.35001183 6.91318417 7.50499821 8.14634514 8.83801174 9.54708767 10.30109215 11.09204960 11.91513062 12.80391884 13.75774097 14.77861786 15.86958122 17.03310394 18.27199364 18.76409531 19.25619698 20.63297844 22.08759880 23.61799431 25.22334671 26.90406609 28.65562248 30.47029114 30.87181282 32.72340775 34.65195465 36.65391922 38.72674179 40.86905289 43.07966232 45.35749817 47.70167160 48.62043381 49.53919601 50.45795822 51.37672043 53.74448776 57.76161575 58.99628448 60.23094940 61.46561432 62.70027924 65.24996185 67.84086609 70.43177795 73.02268219 76.59441376 80.16614532 84.58652496 88.36443329 92.14234924 95.92025757 99.69816589 102.33951569 104.98086548 107.62222290 112.03199768 116.44175720 120.85152435 125.26129913 128.51490784 131.76850891 144.39604187 149.11257935 153.91693115 158.82508850 163.84500122 166.51696777 171.69274902 178.39772034 185.10269165 190.72492981 196.47756958 202.36415100 208.38735962 214.55157471 224.08018494 230.62950134 237.38850403 240.77774048 247.71728516 254.79695129 262.01858521 269.38391113 276.89559937 284.55456543 292.36251831 300.32217407 308.43353271 316.70098877 325.12371826
Attached Files
File Type: csv datalog1.csv (11.7 KB, 0 views)
File Type: csv bad maf.csv (11.3 KB, 0 views)

Last edited by danj76515; 06-20-2017 at 07:14 PM.
danj76515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird AFR at low load Zak MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Troubleshoot/Diagnostics 1 10-30-2016 05:41 PM
If Calc. Load goes up when logged, does that mean more power is being made? bast525
Cobb ATR Support
4 06-11-2010 08:29 AM
MAF's, AFR's, LOAD CALC's, and WTF's??? Realgib3
Cobb ATR Support
275 02-16-2010 09:38 AM
weird crackling noise only at boost, and when engline under load kachow22 MazdaSpeed 3/6 - Troubleshoot/Diagnostics 13 06-29-2009 02:34 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:00 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
Template-Modifications by TMS
©Copyright 2008 ; 2014 Cymru Internet Services LLC | FYHN™ Autosports HQ
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Page generated in 0.26243 seconds with 24 queries